Board on Physics and Astronomy The National Academies

NAS NAE IOM NRC December 20, 2014





NEWS & Events




Contact Us

Board on Physics and Astronomy
The National Academies
500 Fifth Street NW
Washington, DC 20001

Phone: 202-334-3520
Fax: 202-334-3575


Bookmark and Share 

Committee to Review U.S. ITER Science Participation Planning Process



A Review of the DOE Plan for U.S. Fusion Community Participation in the ITER Program

Released July 2008

ITER presents the United States and its international partners with the opportunity to explore new and exciting frontiers of plasma science while bringing the promise of fusion energy closer to reality. The ITER project has garnered the commitment and will draw on the scientific potential of seven international partners, China, the European Union, India, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Russia, and the United States, countries that represent more than half of the world's population. The success of ITER will depend on each partner's ability to fully engage itself in the scientific and technological challenges posed by advancing our understanding of fusion.

In this book, the National Research Council assesses the current U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) plan for U.S. fusion community participation in ITER, evaluates the plan's elements, and recommends appropriate goals, procedures, and metrics for consideration in the future development of the plan.

Committee Members and NRC Staff

Patrick L. Colestock, Chair, Los Alamos National Laboratory
Roger D. Bengtson, The University of Texas at Austin
James E. Brau, University of Oregon,
Cary B. Forest, University of Wisconsin
Stephen Holmes, Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory
George J. Morales, University of California at Los Angeles
Thomas M. O’Neil, University of California at San Diego
Tony S. Taylor, General Atomics
Dennis G. Whyte, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Michael C. Zarnstorff, Princeton University

NRC Staff

Donald Shapero, Director
David Lang, Program Officer

Related Links


The committee is pleased to acknowledge support from the Department of Energy.


Copyright © 2014.| National Academy of Sciences.| All rights reserved.| 500 Fifth St. N.W., Washington, D.C. 20001.| Terms of Use and Privacy Statement