Board on Physics and Astronomy The National Academies

NAS NAE IOM NRC December 22, 2014





NEWS & Events




Contact Us

Board on Physics and Astronomy
The National Academies
500 Fifth Street NW
Washington, DC 20001

Phone: 202-334-3520
Fax: 202-334-3575


Bookmark and Share 

BPA Atomic Molecular and Optical Physics Committee



Controlling the Quantum World: The Science of Atoms, Molecules, and Photons

Released July 2006

As part of the Physics 2010 decadal survey project, the Department of Energy and the National Science Foundation requested that the National Research Council assess the opportunities, over roughly the next decade, in atomic, molecular, and optical (AMO) science and technology. In particular, the National Research Council was asked to cover the state of AMO science, emphasizing recent accomplishments and identifying new and compelling scientific questions. Controlling the Quantum World, discusses both the roles and challenges for AMO science in instrumentation; scientific research near absolute zero; development of extremely intense x-ray and laser sources; exploration and control of molecular processes; photonics at the nanoscale level; and development of quantum information technology. This book also offers an assessment of and recommendations about critical issues concerning maintaining U.S. leadership in AMO science and technology.

Committee Members and NRC Staff

Philip H. Bucksbaum, Co-chair, University of Michigan,
Robert Eisenstein, Co-chair
Gordon A. Baym, University of Illinois at Urbana – Champaign
C. Lewis Cocke, Kansas State University
Eric A. Cornell, University of Colorado / JILA
E. Norval Fortson, University of Washington
Keith Hodgson, Stanford Synchrotron Radiation Laboratory
Anthony M. Johnson, University of Maryland at Baltimore County
Steven Kahn, Stanford Linear Accelerator Center
Mark A. Kasevich, Stanford University
Wolfgang Ketterle, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Kate Kirby, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
Pierre Meystre, University of Arizona
Christopher Monroe, University of Michigan
Margaret M. Murnane, University of Colorado / JILA
William D. Phillips, National Institute of Standards and Technology
Stephen T. Pratt, Argonne National Laboratory
K. Birgitta Whaley, University of California at Berkeley
Neil Calder, Consultant, Stanford Linear Accelerator Center
Neal Lane, Senior Consultant, Rice University

NRC Staff

Donald C. Shapero, Director
Michael H. Moloney, Senior Program Officer
Brian D. Dewhurst, Sr. Program Associate

Related Links


The committee is pleased to acknowledge support from the National Science Foundation and the Department of Energy.


Copyright © 2014.| National Academy of Sciences.| All rights reserved.| 500 Fifth St. N.W., Washington, D.C. 20001.| Terms of Use and Privacy Statement