Board on Physics and Astronomy The National Academies

NAS NAE IOM NRC April 23, 2014





NEWS & Events




Contact Us

Board on Physics and Astronomy
The National Academies
500 Fifth Street NW
Washington, DC 20001

Phone: 202-334-3520
Fax: 202-334-3575


Bookmark and Share 

Plasma Science Committee

Functioning as a continuing steering committee for the field of plasma science, the PLSC provides guidance on ways to maintain and strengthen plasma science as a discipline. The committee maintains a broad and unified definition of plasma issues to give guidance to decision makers in universities, nonprofit research centers, and government agencies. The committee promotes coordination among institutions involved in plasma science, makes recommendations aimed at education of sufficient personnel in the field, monitors the industrial technology base, and sponsors workshops and symposia as a means of communication among the different branches of the field.

Project Information


March 30-31, 2012
Keck Center, Washington DC
Agenda -- Speakers List and Presentations


September 25-26, 2013
Keck Center of the National Academies
Washington, DC

March 25-26, 2011
Washington, DC
Agenda -- Speakers List


September 23-24, 2011
Irvine, CA
Agenda -- Speakers List

March 26-27, 2010
Keck Center, Washington, DC 
Agenda -- Speakers List


September 25-26, 2010
Irvine, CA
Agenda -- Speakers List

March 27-28, 2009
Keck Center, Washington, DC
Agenda -- Speakers List



October 10-11, 2008
Keck Center, Washington, DC
Agenda -- Presentations



April 13, 2007
Keck Center, Washington, DC
Agenda -- Presentations


September 29-30, 2007
Beckman Center, Irvine, CA
March 31, 2006
Keck Center, Washington, DC
Agenda --Presentations
September 30 – October 1, 2006
Beckman Center, Irvine, CA
Agenda -- Presentations

Committee Members and NRC Staff

Michael E. Mauel, Chair, Columbia University
Andrew D. Bailey III, Lam Research Corporation
Paul M. Bellan, California Institute of Technology
William Dorland, University of Maryland
Juan C. Fernández, Los Alamos National Laboratory
John E. Foster, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Margaret G. Kivelson, University of California at Los Angeles
Sergei Krasheninnikov,
University of California at San Diego
Miklos Porkolab, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Andrew M. Sessler, E. O. Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (retired)
Amy E. Wendt, University of Wisconsin, Madison

NRC Staff

David Lang, Program Officer and Responsible Staff Officer
Jim Lancaster, Board Director
Donald Shapero, Seinor Scholar
Linda Walker, Program Coordinator

Past Report-writing Activities  

Current Activities

The Plasma Science Committee has convened the Committee to Review the U.S. ITER Science Participation Planning Process, under the leadership of Patrick Colestock, Los Alamos National Laboratory, to evaluate the DOE plan for U.S. researcher participation in ITER and to recommend next steps in the development of the plan.



Plasma Science: Advancing Knowledge in the National Interest

Released 2007




The Committee is pleased to acknowledge support from the Department of Energy.


Copyright © 2014.| National Academy of Sciences.| All rights reserved.| 500 Fifth St. N.W., Washington, D.C. 20001.| Terms of Use and Privacy Statement