Skip to Main Content
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine
Committee on Law and Justice
Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education


 Member Glenn Loury 

Glenn C. Loury

Department of Economics

Brown University



GLENN C. LOURY is the Merton P. Stoltz professor of the social sciences and professor of economics at Brown University. Previously he has taught economics at Boston, Harvard, and Northwestern Universities, and the University of Michigan. Professor Loury is a distinguished academic economist. He has made scholarly contributions to the fields of welfare economics, game theory, industrial organization, natural resource economics, and the economics of income distribution. He has received a Guggenheim Fellowship to support his work. He is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a fellow of the Econometric Society, a member of the American Philosophical Society and of the Council on Foreign Relations. He was elected vice president of the American Economics Association for 1997. His book, "One by One, From the Inside Out: Essays and Reviews on Race and Responsibility in America" won the 1996 American Book Award and the 1996 Christianity Today Book Award. His other books include "The Anatomy of Racial Inequality" (2002), "Ethnicity, Social Mobility and Public Policy: Comparing the US and the UK" (2005), and "Race, Incarceration and American Values," (2008). Among his recent scholarly publications are “Color-Blind Affirmative Action,” Journal of Law, Economics and Organization, 2008 (with Roland Fryer and Tolga Yuret); and “Valuing Diversity," Journal of Political Economy, forthcoming 2013 (with Roland Fryer): and "Group Inequality," Journal of the European Economics Association, forthcoming 2013 (with Sam Bowles and Rajiv Sethi). He received his B.A. in mathematics from Northwestern University and his Ph.D. in economics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.  Read More

? Back to CLAJ Members










Home BOHSI Home Home BOSE Home BECS Home BCYF Home TAC Home Home BOTA Home CPOP Home CNSTAT Home CLAJ Home BBCSS Home About CLAJ CLAJ Mission CLAJ Members CLAJ Staff Other Sites of Interest About BOSE BOSE Mission BOSE Members BOSE Staff Our Sponsors Visiting our Buildings About CPOP CPOP Mission CPOP Members CPOP Staff About BBCSS BBCSS History BBCSS Members BBCSS Staff Our Sponsors About TAC TAC History TAC Members TAC Associates by State TAC Staff About CNSTAT CNSTAT Members CNSTAT Staff CNSTAT Mission Other Sites of Interest TEstTAc2 About BOTA BOTA Mission BOTA Members BOTA Staff Visiting Our Buildings About BECS BECS History/Mission BECS Brochure BECS Members BECS Staff About BOHSI BOHSI History BOHSI Members BOHSI Staff Our Sponsors About BCYF BCYF History BCYF Graphic Illustration BCYF Members BCYF Staff ABOUT DBASSE Mission Advisory Committee Hauser Policy Impact Fund DBASSE Staff DBASSE Brochure Visiting our Buildings