Skip to Main Content
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine
Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education
Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education
Assessing the Value of Research in Advancing National Goals


Project Scope


A committee of experts is investigating some of the many pathways through which research contributes to our economy and well-being and serves other national goals. The committee will address the technical and other measurement issues for assessing the quality, productivity, and impact of research in advancing national goals. The committee will draw upon current and past NRC studies and the experiences of other countries in order to assess measures of research impacts, in particular their utility and limitations for public policy decisions.


The study is sponsored by the National Science Foundation.


Committee Members

(View committee biographies on the Committee Membership page of the National Academies' Current Projects site)


The Honorable Richard F. Celeste, (Chair), President Emeritus, Colorado College

Rodney A. Brooks, Panasonic Professor of Robotics Emeritus, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Alicia Carriquiry, Distinguished Professor of Statistics, Iowa State University

Christopher M. Coburn, Executive Director, Cleveland Clinic Innovations (CCI)

Stephen E. Fienberg, Maurice Falk University Professor of Statistics and Social Science,

   Department of Statistics, the Machine Learning Department, the Heinz College, and Cylab,

   Carnegie Mellon University

Bronwyn H. Hall, Professor of Economics, University of California, Berkeley,

   and Professor of Economics of Technology and Innovation, University of Maastricht, The Netherlands

John E. Kelly, III, Senior Vice President and Director, Research, International Business Machines Corporation

Josh Lerner, Jacob H. Schiff Professor of Investment Banking, Harvard Business School

David C. Mowery, Professor of New Enterprise Development, Walter A. Haas School of Business,

   University of California, Berkeley

Jason Owen-Smith, Associate Professor Sociology and Organizational Studies and

  Director of and Professor of Organizational Studies in the Barger Leadership Institute, University of Michigan

John Edward Porter, Partner, Hogan Lovells US LLP

Stephanie S. Shipp, Senior Research Staff Member, IDA Science and Technology Policy Institute.

Gregory Tassey, Senior Economist, National Institute of Standards and Technology

Jeffrey Wadsworth, (NAE), President and Chief Executive Officer, Battelle Memorial Institute, Inc.

David Ward, Chancellor (Interim), University of Wisconsin—Madison




Miron Straf, Study Director

Mary Ann Kasper, Sr. Program Assistant


Committee Meetings


January 10-12, 2013 — Agenda of public sessions

April 8-9, 2013

July 22-23, 2013


Home ABOUT DBASSE Mission Advisory Committee Hauser Policy Impact Fund Henry and Bryna David Lecture DBASSE Staff DBASSE Brochure Topics in the News News & Events Upcoming Events Social and Behavioral Sciences in Action Henry and Bryna David Lecture Our Work Roundtable on the Communication and
Use of Social and Behavioral Sciences
Forum for Children's Well-Being Standing Committee on Advancing Science
Communication Research and Practice
Other Roundtables and Forums Board on Behavioral, Cognitive, and Sensory Sciences Board on Children, Youth, and Families Board on Environmental Change and Society Board on Human-Systems Integration Board on Science Education Committee on Law and Justice Committee on National Statistics Committee on Population Teacher Advisory Council Office of Testing and Assessment Publications DBASSE Reports DBASSE Brochure Video Archive Work With Us Our Study Process Study Process Brochure Getting to Know the Committee Process Overview for Sponsors Guide for Study Sponsors
left imagetext captioncenter image