Skip to Main Content
National Academy of Sciences
National Academy of Engineering
Institute of Medicine
National Research Council
Teacher Advisory Council
Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education

Community Colleges in the Evolving STEM Education Landscape: A Summit

December 15, 2011

Summit Agenda

Commissioned Papers

Background Resources

More Information about the summit

Welcome and Introductions

Jay Labov, NAS
Toby Horn, Carnegie Academy for Science Education
Barbara Olds, NSF
George Boggs, NAS Committee Chair

Community college opportunities and challenges in STEM

Jane Oates, U.S. Department of Labor
Eric Bettinger, Stanford University

Key Issues in Realizing the Potential of Community Colleges

Becky Wai-Ling Packard, Mount Holyoke
Debra Bragg, University of Illinois
Alicia Dowd, University of Southern California

Keynote Address: Expanding Minority Participation in Undergraduate STEM

Harvey Fineberg, Institute of Medicine
Freeman Hrabowski, University of Maryland

Breakout Groups

George Boggs, Committee Chair

Closing Remarks

Committee members' reflections
Martha J. Kanter, U.S. Department of Education
V. Celeste Carter, National Science Foundation

The National Academies

left imagetext captioncenter image