Skip to Main Content
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine
Decadal Survey on Astronomy and Astrophysics (ASTRO2020)
Decadal Survey on Astronomy and Astrophysics (ASTRO2020)
Astro2020 Home
SSB Home
BPA Home
astro2020 home page graphic

The Decadal Survey on Astronomy and Astrophysics (Astro2020) is a partnership between the National Academies and the astronomical community to identify key priorities in astronomy and astrophysics and develop a comprehensive strategy for agency investments in the upcoming decade.


The survey, sponsored by NASA, NSF, and DOE, will be driven by input from the scientific community and serve as a guide for scientists, policy makers, and federal agencies. The final report will present a broad vision for transformative science at the frontiers of astronomy and astrophysics.







 button sign hup mailing list

View newsletters




July 10, 2019

Astro2020 APC White Paper Deadline


July 15-17, 2019

Steering Committee Meeting One

Washington, DC





Astro2020 APC White Paper Update

The Astro2020 APC White Papers are due July 10 at 5pm EDT. Due to the timing of the white paper call, we recognize that some projects may still be in the process of verification and validation of cost estimates. We are therefore modifying the request for cost information to be included in the white papers.

White paper submitters should provide completed cost estimates if available. If costs are still being developed and validated, or the breakdown of funding is yet to be determined, the project should provide the cost category for the overall project, including science and operations. Posted 6/13/19


The categories are listed below.

Space-Based Projects

  • Small: <$500M
  • Medium: $500M - $1.5 B
  • Large: >$1.5B

Ground-Based Projects

  • Small: <$20M
  • Medium: $20M - $70M
  • Large: >$70M
Register to Watch the Astro2020 Committee Meeting on July 15-17


The first Astro2020 committee meeting will take place on July 15-17, 2019 at the Keck Center in Washington, D.C. You are invited to watch the open sessions of the meeting remotely. The meeting agenda is not available yet, but if you register you'll receive an email when the open session times are posted.Posted 6/13/19

Register to Attend Online



Astro2020 Panel Structure Announced

We are pleased to announce the panel structure for the Decadal Survey on Astronomy and Astrophysics (Astro2020). There will be six science panels, six program panels, and one state of the profession panel.

Science Panels

  • Cosmology
  • Galaxies
  • Interstellar Medium and Star and Planet Formation
  • Stars, the Sun, and Stellar Populations
  • Compact Objects and Energetic Phenomena
  • Exoplanets, Astrobiology, and the Solar System

Program Panels

  • Electromagnetic Observations from Space 1
  • Electromagnetic Observations from Space 2
  • Optical and Infrared Observations from the Ground
  • Radio, Millimeter, and Submillimeter Observations from the Ground
  • Particle Astrophysics and Gravitation
  • An Enabling Foundation for Research

State of the Profession Panel 

  • State of the Profession and Societal Impacts
Panels will work in conjunction with the newly appointed Astro2020 steering committee. Posted 6/13/19


APC White paper Guidelines

The guidelines for Activity, Project or State of the Profession Consideration (APC) white papers are now available. The responses to the request for Notices of Intent (NOIs) are now available. (Posted 5/23/19)


Committee Membership

We are pleased to announce the members of the steering committee for the Decadal Survey on Astronomy and Astrophysics (Astro2020). The role of the steering committee is to lead a community-based process to identify and prioritize leading-edge scientific questions and the ways to answer them. Members of the steering committee were selected for their scientific and technical expertise and breadth, and proven ability to provide objective, consensus-based advice. (Posted 5/20/19)

  • Fiona A. Harrison, California Institute of Technology, Co-Chair
  • Robert C. Kennicutt, Jr., University of Arizona and Texas A&M University, Co-Chair
  • Julianne Dalcanton, University of Washington
  • Pieter van Dokkum, Yale University
  • Andrew S. Driesman, Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory
  • Jonathan J. Fortney, University of California, Santa Cruz
  • Gabriela González, Louisiana State University
  • Jordan A. Goodman, University of Maryland
  • Marc P. Kamionkowski, Johns Hopkins University
  • Bruce A. Macintosh, Stanford University
  • Jacobus M. Oschmann, International Society for Optics and Photonics (SPIE)
  • Rachel A. Osten, Space Telescope Science Institute
  • Lyman A. Page, Jr., Princeton University
  • Eliot Quataert, University of California, Berkeley
  • Wanda A. Sigur, Lockheed Martin, retired
  • Rachel Somerville, Flatiron Institute/Rutgers University
  • Keivan G. Stassun, Vanderbilt University
  • Jean L. Turner, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Tim de Zeeuw, Leiden University
  • Ellen G. Zweibel, University of Wisconsin, Madison

Read the steering committee member biographies