Skip to Main Content
National Academy of Sciences
National Academy of Engineering
Institute of Medicine
National Research Council
Board on Army Science and Technology
About the BAST
Current Activities
Standing Committees
Science & Technology Reports
Disposal of Chemical Weapons via Incineration
Disposal of Recovered Chemical Munitions
Disposal of Chemical Weapons via Non-Incineration Technologies

Committee on Chemical Demilitarization

The Committee on Chemical Demilitarization oversees National Academies’ studies in support of the Program Executive Officer, Assembled Chemical Weapons Alternatives (ACWA) as it executes the United States’ Chemical Demilitarization Program (CDP). This standing committee, in conformance with a 1986 Congressional mandate, will continue independent NRC oversight of the demilitarization program, including the conduct of studies by ad hoc committees formed under it.

The committee meets with the sponsor to obtain information on the status of the CDP; discuss potential studies to be carried out under the oversight of the standing committee; and bring together prominent scientists, engineers, and government officials to discuss program issues of interest to the committee and the CMA and ACWA programs.



Dr. Robert A. Beaudet, Chair, Emeritus Professor of Chemistry
Dr. Edward C. Bishop, Risk Management Consultant, HDR Engineering, Inc.
Dr. Judith A. Bradbury, Independent Consultant
Dr. Herek L. Clack, Associate Professor, The University of Michigan
Dr. Gary S. Groenewold, Consulting Scientist, Idaho National Laboratory
Dr. John R. Howell (NAE), Ernest Cockrell, Jr. Memorial Chair, Department of Mechanical Engineering, The University of Texas
Dr. Randall J. Keller, Professor, Department of Occupational Safety and Health, Murray State University
Mr. Todd A. Kimmell, Principal Investigator, Environmental Science Division, Argonne National Laboratory
Dr. Loren D. Koller, Consultant, Loren Koller and Associates
Dr. David S. Kosson, Professor and Chair, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Vanderbilt University
Dr. Frederick J. Krambeck, President, ReacTech, Inc.
Dr. Ronald Latanision, Corporate Vice President, Exponent, Inc.
Mr. Murray Glenn Lord, Associate Environmental Health and Safety Director, EH&S Operations, The Dow Chemical Company
Mr. Douglas M. Medville, Program Leader, Chemical Materiel Disposal and Remediation (Ret.), MITRE
Professor Joel A. Mintz, Professor of Law, Nova Southeastern University Law Center
Dr. Paige J. Novak, Professor, Department of Civil Engineering, University of Minnesota
Dr. Julius Rebek Jr., Director, Skaggs Institute for Chemical Biology, Professor of Chemistry, Department of Chemistry, Scripps Research Institute
Dr. T.W. Fraser Russell, Allan P. Colburn Professor Emeritus of Chemical Engineering, Department of Chemical Engineering, University of Delaware
Dr. Timothy J. Shepodd, Deputy Director, Security Systems and Reliability, Sandia National Laboratories
Dr. W. Leigh Short, Consultant (Ret.), Woodward-Clyde Consultants
Dr. Vernon L. Snoeyink, Professor of Environmental Engineering Emeritus, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Illinois
Bruce A. Braun, Director, BAST
Nancy T. Schulte, Senior Program Officer
Nia D. Johnson, Senior Research Associate