Contact Us  |  Search:  
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine
Committee on Science, Engineering, and Public Policy
Committee on Science, Engineering, and Public Policy
Policy and Global Affairs
Home About Us News & Events Projects Publications Contact Us


Responsible Science: Ensuring the Integrity of the Research Process
An ad hoc committee will undertake a revision of the Responsible Science study first issued in 1992.  The committee will address the following topics:
  • The state of current knowledge about modern research practices that could affect the integrity of research
  • The impacts on integrity of changing trends in the dynamics of the research enterprise
  • The advantages and disadvantages of enhanced educational efforts and explicit guidelines for researchers and research institutions
  • The appropriate roles for government agencies, research institutions and universities, and journals in promoting responsible research practices
  • The definition of research misconduct
Study Director: Tom Arrison
Lida Anestidou, Senior Program Officer
Research Associate: Neeraj P. Gorkhaly
[More Information]



The State of the Postdoctoral Experience in Scientists and Engineers Revisited
Building on the 2000 report Enhancing the Postdoctoral Experience for Scientists and Engineers, an ad hoc committee will:
  • Describe the state of postdoctoral programs in the United States
  • Examine how postdocs are being guided and managed
  • Review institutional practices with respect to postdocs
  • Determine what happens to postdocs after they complete their programs
  • Explore important changes that have occurred in the postdoc practices and in the research ecosystem
  • Assess how well current practices meet the needs of these scientists and engineers, and of the research enterprise
Study Director: Kevin Finneran
Senior Program Officer: Guru Madhavan
Associate Program Officer: Maria Lund Dahlberg
Research Associate: David J. Proctor (until September, 2012)
Mirzayan Fellow: Richard-Duane Chambers

Evaluation of EPSCoR and similar Federal Agency Programs
An ad hoc committee will review and evaluate the Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR) and similar programs for seven federal agencies: National Science Foundation, National Institutes of Health, US Department of Agriculture, National Aeronautical and Space Administration, Department of Energy, Department of Defense, and Environmental Protection Agency. In particular, the committee will:
  • Evaluate the management and effectiveness of the programs in achieving their goals;
  • Explore how well they are integrated with other activities and initiatives of the respective agencies; and
  • Assess how well the overall efforts align with the larger federal mission of nurturing the health and productivity of the nation’s scientific and engineering research enterprise.
Study Director: Kevin Finneran
Senior Program Officer: Gail Greenfield
Research Associate: David J. Proctor (until September, 2012)
Research Associate: Maria Lund Dahlberg
Mirzayan Fellows: Richard-Duane Chambers, Reed Sherman