Subscribe to our mailing list  |  Search:  
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine
Jefferson Science Fellowship
Fellowships Office
Policy and Global Affairs
Home About Applicants Fellows Contact Fellowships Home

Announcement of the 2012-2013 Jefferson Science Fellows

The 2012-2013 Jefferson Science Fellows is the eigth group of Fellows selected since the Jefferson program was established in 2003 as an initiative of the Science and Technology Adviser to the U.S. Secretary of State to further build capacity for science, technology and engineering expertise within the U.S. Department of State.

The Fellowship program is based on the premise that science and technology make fundamental contributions to the security, economic, health, and cultural foundations of modern societies, and are integral to the development and implementation of foreign policy. It was established to create opportunities for the substantial engagement of tenured scientists and engineers from U.S. academic institutions in the work of the U.S. Department of State. Fellows serve one-year assignments working full-time in the Department of State or the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID), then remain available as consultants after returning to their academic careers.

From 2003 to 2008, the Jefferson Science Fellows program was funded by generous grants from the Carnegie Corporation of New York and John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation. In 2008, funding for the JSF program was institutionalized within the U.S. Department of State. The JSF program remains a partnership between the Department of State and U.S. academic institutions. The home universities continue to pay the salary and benefits of their respective faculty members during their service as Fellows, while the Department of State funds local living expenses and program related travel. The Jefferson Science Fellows program is administered on behalf of the U.S. Department of State by the Fellowships Office of the National Academies.

The 2012-2013 Jefferson Science Fellows are: 

David Benson, Univeristy of Connecticut

Suryanarayana Challapalli, University of Central Florida

M. Samy El-Shall, Virginia Commonwealth University

Maureen Goodenow, University of Florida

Sara Harkness, University of Connecticut

Raj Khosla, Colorado State University

Roger Kjelgren, Utah State University

Clyde Martin, Texas Tech University

Richard Matzner, University of Texas at Austin

Brook Milligan, New Mexico State University

Jean Beagle Ristaino, North Carolina State Univeristy

Rajan Sen, University of South Florida