Skip to Main Content
Board on International Scientific Organizations
The National Academies
The National Academies
Home About BISO Subscribe to Our Newsletter
Quick Links

International Visitors Office
For visa-related issues, visit International Visitors Office

Contact the IVO

Tel:+1 202-334-2807
Fax:+1 202-334-2231

BISO Events Calendar

Events of US National
Committees and
international unions
associated with BISO

Contact BISO
Board on International Scientific Organizations
Policy and Global Affairs
The National Academies
500 Fifth Street
Washington, DC 20001 USA
Tel:  +1 202-334-2807
Fax: +1 202-334-2231 


BISO Home > Board Membership and Staff 


The Board on International Scientific Organizations is an advisory board that provides advice and guidance to the U.S. National Committee system within BISO. In addition, the BISO serves as the U.S. National Committee to the International Council for Science (ICSU).



  • Tilahun Yilma, NAS, Chair
    Professor of Virology and Director, University of California, Davis
  • Robert Chen
    Director and Senior Research Scientist, CIESIN
  • Daniel Goroff
    Program Director, Alfred Sloan Foundation
  • Lisa Grant Ludwig
    Associate Professor, University of California, Irvine
  • William Hooke
    Director and Senior Policy Fellow, American Meteorological Society
  • C. Bradley Moore, NAS
    Professor Emeritus, University of California, Berkeley 
  • Lueny Morell
    Director of University Relations for Latin America
    Hewlett-Packard Company
  • J. Bruce Overmier
    Professor, University of Minnesota 
  • Jay S. Pearlman
  • Karen Strier, NAS
    Hilldale Professor of Anthropology,
    University of Wisconsin



  • John Hildebrand, NAS Foreign Secretary
    University of Arizona, Tucson
  • International Council for Science (ICSU)
  • Dov Jaron
    Drexel University
    International Union for Physical and Engineering Sciences in Medicine (IUPESM)
  • Kennedy Reed
    International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP)
    Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory


  • Kathie Bailey, Director
  • Ester Sztein, Assistant Director and Senior Program Officer
  • Ana M. Ferreras, Senior Program Officer
  • Lois Peterson Kent, Senior Program Officer
  • Kathryn (Kate) Hughes, Program Officer
  • Pam Gamble, Administrative Associate

Biographical sketches of BISO Staff



This material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant Number IIA-1332689. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.
To comment on this webpage or report an error, please send feedback to the BISO Site Manager.