April 18, 2014


About the SSB

Board Members & Staff

News & Events

Standing Committees

Decadal Surveys

Current Projects

Completed Projects

Reports By Year

Quarterly Newsletter

Lloyd V. Berkner Space Policy Internships



Contact Us

Space Studies Board
500 Fifth Street NW
Washington, DC
Phone: (202) 334-3477
Fax: (202) 334-3701
E-mail: ssb@nas.edu

Bookmark and Share 

  Follow us on Twitter 




Evaluation of Space Radiation Cancer Risk

View our current projects system for further information.

Statement of Task:

An ad-hoc committee will be organized under the auspices of the Space Studies Board to:

1. The committee will evaluate proposed updates to the NASA cancer projection model taking into consideration the following:

current knowledge of low-LET (linear energy transfer) radiation cancer epidemiology,
effects of tissue weighting factors, radiation weighting factors, and DDREF's (dose and dose-rate effectiveness factor) used in projecting risks, and
current uncertainties in Quality Factors, DDREF's and organ dose assessment.
This will be done taking into consideration possible qualitative differences between low LET and heavy ion biological effects to determine if the use of quality factors are appropriate or inappropriate for GCR risk assessments.

2. The committee will identify gaps in NASA's current research strategy for reducing the uncertainties in cancer induction risks.

Link to Current Projects Page

Upcoming Meetings

Past Meetings

August 3, 2011 - August 5, 2011
Keck Center
500 5th Street, NW
Washington D.C. 20001

Evaluation of Space Radiation Cancer Risk Model
June 13, 2011 - June 15, 2011
Keck Center
500 5th Street, NW
Washington D.C. 20001

Committee Membership

Dr. R. Julian Preston - (Chair)
Environmental Protection Agency

 Dr. Joel S. Bedford
Colorado State University

 Dr. Amy Berrington de Gonzalez
National Cancer Institute

 Dr. B. John Garrick
Independent Consultant.

 Dr. Dudley T. Goodhead
Medical Research Council (Emeritus)

 Dr. Bernard A. Harris, Jr.
Vesalius Ventures

 Dr. Kathyrn D. Held
Massachusetts General Hospital

 Dr. David G. Hoel
Medical University of South Carolina

 Dr. Jack R. Jokipii
University of Arizona

Dr. Insoo Jun
California Institute of Technology 

Dr. Charles E. Land
National Cancer Institute

Dr. Hans-Georg Menzel
European Organization for Nuclear Research

Dr. Peter O'Neill
University of Oxford


Copyright © 2014.| National Academy of Sciences.| All rights reserved.| 500 Fifth St. N.W., Washington, D.C. 20001.| Terms of Use and Privacy Statement