December 18, 2014



About the SSB

Board Members & Staff

News & Events

Standing Committees

Decadal Surveys

Current Projects

Completed Projects

Reports By Year

Quarterly Newsletter

Lloyd V. Berkner Space Policy Internships



Contact Us

Space Studies Board
500 Fifth Street NW
Washington, DC
Phone: (202) 334-3477
Fax: (202) 334-3701

Bookmark and Share 

  Follow us on Twitter 


Working Group on Innovations, Technology, Instruments, Data Systems

Back to Heliophysics Home Page

Working Group Lead
Andrew B. Christensen, Dixie State University
J. Todd Hoeksema, Stanford University

This cross-disciplinary working group will identify and prioritize cross-disciplinary approaches to technology and data systems, needed for future solar and space physics missions and research facilities.

Questions to be addressed:

  • What are the near-term mission-specific technology and data system developments to meet specific mission and facilitiy requirements?
  • What are the general technology and data system developments that will enable high-priority science on future missions?
  • What are the development needs faced by solar and space physics?
    • Instruments
      • Remote sensing, in-situ, ground-based, active
    • Spacecraft systems and technology
      • Propulsion, launchers, miniaturization, formation flying, plug-and-play standards
    • Data Systems
      • Hardware, software, data exploitation tools, virtual observations, social media

Working Group Members
Andrew Christensen, Co-Lead, Dixie State University
J. Todd Hoeksema, Co-Lead, Stanford University
Mihir Desai, Southwest Researt Institute
Keith Goetz, University of Minnesota
Joseph Gurman, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
Rod Heelis, University of Texas-Dallas
Gordon Hurford, University of California-Berkeley
Neal Hurlburt, Lockheed Martin
Jeff Kuhn, University of Hawaii
Ralph McNutt, Johns Hopkins University's Applied Physics Laboratory
Steve Mende, University of California-Berkeley
Eberhard Moebius, University of New Hampshire
Danny Morrison, Johns Hopkins University's Applied Physics Laboratory
Charles Swenson, Utah State University
Daniel Winterhalter, Jet Propulsion Laboratory


To contact the Decadal Survey Team, you may email us at

Copyright © 2014.| National Academy of Sciences.| All rights reserved.| 500 Fifth St. N.W., Washington, D.C. 20001.| Terms of Use and Privacy Statement