

Building Smart Communities for the Future

Government-University-Industry Research Roundtable Meeting Participants List

Tilak	Agerwala	IBM Emeritus	IBM
			Center for Applied Research on
Jeffrey	Alexander	Principal Researcher	Innovation
Erik	Antonsson	Corporate Director of Technology	Northrop Grumman Corporation
Spence	Armstrong	Lieutenant General (retired)	U.S. Air Force
		Executive Director, Federal Research	
Amanda	Arnold	Relations	Arizona State University
Peter	Arzberger	Senior Advisor, CISE	National Science Foundation
			National Center for Advancing
Christopher	Austin	Director	Translational Sciences, NIH
		AVP, Mobility Research and Business	
Carla	Bailo	Development	The Ohio State University
Suresh	Balakrishnan	Assistant Vice Chancellor	University System of Maryland
	Baylor-		National Academies of Sciences,
Claudette	Fleming	Administrative Coordinator, GUIRR	Engineering, and Medicine
Durcin	Becerik- Gerber	Associate Professor	University of Southern California
Burcin			University of Southern California
Glynda	Becker	Director of Federal Relations	Washington State University
Robert	Berinato	Chief Research Scientist	Dynetics
Arthur	Bienenstock	Professor	Stanford University
Richard	Bissell	Executive Director, Policy and Global Affairs	National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
Tony	Boccanfuso	President	University-Industry Demonstration Partnership
Sandra	Brown	Vice Chancellor for Research	University of California, San Diego
James	Burke	Capture Innovation	Engility
Tara	Burke	Director, Research Development	University of Maryland, College Park
Susan	Butts	President	Susan B. Butts Consulting
Brianna	Cash	University Relations Lead	Northrop Grumman Corporation
Leo	Chalupa	Vice President for Research	George Washington University
Justin	Cole	Associate	MetroLab Network
Dan	Correa	Senior Advisor for Innovation Policy	White House OSTP
Steve	Cross	Executive Vice President	Georgia Institute of Technology
Jennifer	Curtis	Dean	University of California, Davis
			National Academies of Sciences,
Maria Lund	Dahlberg	Associate Program Officer	Engineering, and Medicine



Dona	Dickinson	Technical Fellow	Northrop Grumman Corporation
			University-Industry Demonstration
Ethan	Diefenbach	Intern	Partnership
a 1			Chairman, V1 Analytical Solutions,
Gordon	England	GUIRR Industry Co-Chair	Inc.
Kimberly	Espy	Senior Vice President of Research	University of Arizona
David	Field	Professor	Washington State University
Dennis	Fortner	Manager, Technology Acquisitions	Northrop Grumman Corporation
Royce	Francis	Assistant Professor	George Washington University
Rick	French	Director of External and Federal Relations	West Virginia University
John	Garrity	Policy Advisor	Cisco
		Associate Vice President for Research	
Ken	Gertz	Development	University of Maryland
Melvin	Greer	Director Data Science and Analytics	Intel Corporation
		Chief Corporate and Global Partnerships	
		Officer, Senior Intellectual Property	
Edwin D.	Hirleman	Officer	Purdue University
Dederial	laskoon	Group Leader, Building Technologies	Oak Didge National Laboratory
Roderick	Jackson	Envelope Systems Research	Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Farnam	Jahanian	Provost and Chief Academic Officer	Carnegie Mellon University
Wayne	Johnson	Senior Business Advisor	Maguire Associates
PD	Klein	Founder	Fab Lab DC
Robert	Knotts	Director of Federal Relations	Georgia Institute of Technology
Katherine	Kortum	Senior Program Officer	Transportation Research Board
Jill	Kurth	City Design Practice	CannonDesign
Andrew	Lee	Chief Scientist, Innovation	Harris Corporation
Laurie	Leshin	President	Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Benjamin	Levine	Interim Director	MetroLab Network
		Executive Director, National Research	
Rachel	Levinson	Initiatives	Arizona State University
			U.S. State Department, Office of
Garrick	Louis	Jefferson Science Fellow	Global Food Security
David	1	Vice Provost for Research, Innovation,	
David	Luzzi	and Development Sr. VP Research, Innovation, & Economic	Northeastern University
Theresa	Maldonado	Development	The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley
Daniel	Marasco	· · ·	
		AAAS S&T Policy Fellow Chief Scientist	Department of Homeland Security
Jeffrey	Marqusee		Noblis Tomala University
Michele	Masucci	Vice President for Research	Temple University
Michael	Mattmiller	Chief Technology Officer	City of Seattle
Barbara	Mittleman	Chief Strategy Officer, Vice Chair	WayMark Systems
Dan	Mote	President	National Academy of Engineering



			National Academies of Sciences,
Megan	Nicholson	Associate Program Officer, GUIRR	Engineering, and Medicine
Patrick	O'Shea	Vice President and Chief Research Officer	University of Maryland
Timesthe	Derreene	ChiefColontiat	U.S. Government Accountability Office
Timothy	Persons	Chief Scientist Assistant Professor, Community and	Office
Alenka	Poplin	Regional Planning	Iowa State University
Alelika	горіп		Massachusetts Institute of
Carlo	Ratti	Director of SENSEable City Lab	Technology
Andrew	Reynolds	Strategic Foresight Consultant	SET for Development
	,	Associate Director of Cyber-Physical	National Institute of Standards and
Sokwoo	Rhee	Systems Program	Technology
		IBM North America Leader, Industry	
Cate	Richards	Solutions Sales	IBM
Rodney	Robertson	Executive Director	Auburn University
		Assistant VP Industry & Corporate	
Tom	Russo	Research	George Washington University
Tom	Schenk	Chief Data Officer	City of Chicago
Carl	Schramm	University Professor	Syracuse University
Sameer	Sharma	General Manager	Intel Corporation
		Deputy Director, Social & Decision	
Stephanie	Shipp	Analytics Lab	Virginia Tech
Tom	Skalak	Executive Director	Paul G. Allen Frontiers Group
			National Academies of Sciences,
Susan	Sloan	Director, GUIRR	Engineering, and Medicine
David	Spencer	Chairman	wTe Corporation
		Visiting Scholar, Social and Decision	Biocomplexity Institute of Virginia
Miron	Straf	Analytics Laboratory	Tech
Kathryn	Sullivan	Senior Advisor	National Science Foundation
			Pacific Northwest National
Kelly	Sullivan	Institutional S&T Investments	Laboratory
. .	- · ·	Director of Strategy, Analytics and	
Amir	Tejani	Reporting	Lehigh University
Lydia	Thomas	President and CEO (retired)	Noblis
Kristina	Thorsell	Project Manager	University-Industry Demonstration
		, ,	Partnership
Andrew	Turner	Chief Technology Officer	Esri R&D Center
Reginald	Vachon	Chairman	SMA INC
John	Wenstrand	Senior Director, External Research	Agilent Technologies, Inc.
Paul	Zimmerman	University Program Office	Intel Corporation
Devid	7:	Managing Director, Smart Cities and	1776
David	Zipper	Transportation	1776