The Role of Inducement Prizes

A Workshop Organized by the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine in Cooperation with

The Laboratory for Innovation Science at Harvard

May 29, 2019

The Keck Center of the National Academies 500 Fifth Street, NW Washington, DC

Agenda

9:00 AM Welcome and Overview (Room 100)

Karim Lakhani, Harvard Business School (committee chair)

9:15 AM Session I: Grants, Contracts, and Prizes in the Innovation Ecosystem (Room 100)

Moderator: Alberto Galasso, University of Toronto (committee member)

Jason Crusan, Woodside Energy (via Zoom) Niki Kittur, Carnegie Mellon University Philip Brookins, Max Planck Institute for Research on Collective Goods Zorina Khan, Bowdoin College

10:45 AM Coffee Break

11:00 AM Session II: International and Non-Profit Experiences (Room 100)

Moderator: Diane Burton, Cornell University (committee member)

Cecilia Conrad, John D and Catherine T MacArthur Foundation and Lever for Change

Tris Dyson, NESTA

Barbara Kowatsch, former Open Innovation Policy Officer in the Directorate General for Research and Innovation under Horizon 2020

12:15 PM Lunch

1:15 PM Session III: Lessons on Implementation (Room 100)

Moderator: Hila Lifshitz-Assaf, New York University (committee member)

Richard Dunn, former general counsel for DARPA Roy Rosin, Penn Medicine Dyan Finkhousen, GE Angelo Rigillo, Enel SPA, Rome

2:45 PM Session IV: Implementing Prizes at Federal Agencies (Room 100)

Session Introduction

Zoe Szajnfarber, The George Washington University (committee member)

SESSION NOTE: Workshop Participants will proceed to breakout groups following session introduction.

Session IV: Breakout Group A (Room 100)

Moderator: Alberto Galasso, University of Toronto (committee member) Speakers:

> Sandeep Patel, Department of Health and Human Services Taylor Gilliland, National Institutes of Health Dusty Lang, Department of Homeland Security

Session IV: Breakout Group B (E Street Conference Room)

Moderator: Hila Lifshitz-Assaf, New York University (committee member) Speakers:

Lynn Buquo and Monsi Roman, NASA Rafael Cotto, National Science Foundation

Session IV: Breakout Group C (Room 208)

Moderator: Zoe Szajnfarber, The George Washington University (cmte member) Speakers:

Heather Evans, National Institute of Standards and Technology Hoyt Battey, Department of Energy

3:45 PM Coffee Break

4:00 PM Session V: Integrating Prize Outcomes (Room 100)

Moderator: Anne-Laure Fayard, New York University (committee member)

Opening Presentations by:

James Beck, Wendy Schmidt Ocean Health X Challenge winner David Hertz, Water Abundance XPrize winner Marybeth Haneline, Nova Labs, Inc.

SESSION NOTE: Workshop Participants will proceed to breakout groups following opening presentations.

Session V--Breakout Group A (Room 100)

Moderator: Jack Hughes, Lewis Bay Holdings, LLC (committee member) Speakers:

James Beck, Wendy Schmidt Ocean Health X Challenge winner David Hertz, Water Abundance XPrize winner

Session V--Breakout Group B (E Street Conference Room)

Moderator: Anne-Laure Fayard, New York University (committee member) Speakers:

Marybeth Haneline, Nova Labs, Inc. Daryl Peace, Nova Labs, Inc. Patrick Thompson, Nova Labs, Inc.

5:15 PM Closing Comments from Committee (Room 100)

Moderator: Karim Lakhani, Harvard Business School (committee chair)

5:30 PM Adjourn