

## Statement on Founding the Action Collaborative on Preventing Sexual Harassment in Higher Education

April 10, 2019

The National Academies report on Sexual Harassment of Women: Climate, Culture, and Consequences in Academic Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine (2018) found that between 20 and 50 percent of women students and more than 50 percent of women faculty and staff experienced sexually harassing behavior while in academia. It also revealed that the sexually harassing behavior consists of three types: sexual coercion, unwanted sexual attention (including sexual assault), and gender harassment. Additionally, it demonstrated that it is the gender harassment, which are the verbal and nonverbal behaviors that convey hostility, objectification, exclusion, or second-class status about members of one gender, that is by far the most common form of sexual harassment. Research in the report also demonstrates that all three forms of sexual harassment undermine the professional and educational attainment, and mental and physical health of people of all genders. It also shows that these consequences are not limited to those experiencing it directly; but that bystanders – people of all genders – who experience ambient harassment in their work or education environment are also affected and this in turn affects organizations as employees disengage, withdraw, and leave their work so as not to become the next target. The Sexual Harassment of Women report concludes that systemwide changes to the culture and climate in higher education are needed and provides a roadmap for higher education to make these changes.

To advance this work, we join with the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine to launch an Action Collaborative on Preventing Sexual Harassment in Higher Education, and we invite other higher education institutions and research and training organizations to join us. We acknowledge that it is our responsibility as individual institutions to maintain respectful and inclusive environments where students, faculty, and staff can thrive and use their talents. We recognize that we must work together to address and prevent all forms of sexual harassment and promote a culture and climate of civility and respect at our institutions. Our overarching goal is to achieve targeted, collective action that moves toward evidence-based

policies and practices at the individual and systems levels to address and prevent all forms of sexual harassment.

The four specific goals of the Action Collaborative are to:

- Raise awareness about sexual harassment and how it occurs, the consequences of sexual harassment, and the organizational characteristics and recommended approaches that can prevent it.
- Share and elevate evidence-based institutional policies and strategies to reduce and prevent sexual harassment.
- Contribute to setting the research agenda, and gather and apply research results across institutions.
- Develop a standard for measuring progress toward reducing and preventing sexual harassment in higher education.

Achieving these goals is no small task, but we are confident that together we can make higher education a space where sexual harassment cannot and does not thrive, and where our students, faculty, and staff are able to achieve their goals and ambitions, and reach their full potential.

## **Founding Members**

April Castañeda
Assistant Vice President for Equity & Equity
Investigations, Title IX Coordinator
CalTech

Paul S. Viviano
President and Chief Executive Officer
Children's Hospital Los Angeles

Bruce Stillman
President and Chief Executive Officer
Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory

Philip J. Hanlon President Dartmouth College

Sally Kornbluth
Provost and Jo Rae Wright University
Professor
Duke University

Lawrence S. Bacow President Harvard University

Sunil Kumar Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs Johns Hopkins University

Francisco C. Rodriguez
Chancellor
Los Angeles Community College District

Satish Udpa Acting President Michigan State University

> Elizabeth L. Hillman President Mills College

Cynthia Barnhart
Chancellor and Ford Professor of
Engineering
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Jonathan Holloway
Provost, Professor of History and African
American Studies
Northwestern University

Rae-Anne C. Butera
Dean of Student Affairs
F.W. Olin College of Engineering

Barbara A. Lee Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs Rutgers University

Karen S. Cook
Ray Lyman Wilbur Professor of Sociology
Vice Provost, Faculty Development and
Diversity
Stanford University

Francis J. Ricciardone
President
The American University in Cairo

Kim A. Wilcox Chancellor University of California, Riverside

Robert J. Jones
Chancellor
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Kumble Subbaswamy Chancellor University of Massachusetts Amherst

> Mark Schlissel President University of Michigan

Elizabeth A. Graddy
Executive Vice Provost
Jeffrey J. Miller Chair in Government,
Business and the Economy
University of Southern California

Wayne T. Davis
Chancellor
Professor of Civil Engineering
University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Ana Mari Cauce President Professor of Psychology University of Washington

Raymond W. Cross
President
University of Wisconsin System

Susan R. Wente
Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic
Affairs, Professor of Cell and
Developmental Biology
Vanderbilt University

Jeffrey R. Balser, President and CEO Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

> Paula A. Johnson President Wellesley College

Peter Salovey
President and Chris Argyris Professor of
Psychology
Yale University