The National Academies of SCIENCES • ENGINEERING • MEDICINE

SPACE STUDIES BOARD

Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences



The Space Studies Board is delighted to announce the appointment of Caltech's Professor Fiona A. Harrison by the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine to be the board's new chair with a term starting January 1, 2017.

Dr. Harrison is the California Institute of Technology's (CalTech) Benjamin M. Rosen Professor of Physics and the Kent and Joyce Kresa Leadership Chair of the Division of Physics, Mathematics and Astronomy. Dr. Harrison's research is focused on the study of energetic phenomena ranging from gamma-ray bursts, black holes on all mass scales, to neutron stars and supernovae. Currently she is principal investigator for NASA's Nuclear Spectroscopic Telescope Array (NuSTAR). She received her Ph.D. in physics from the University of California, Berkeley, and went to Caltech in 1993 as a Robert A. Millikan Prize Fellow in Experimental Physics.

Dr Harrison was awarded the Presidential Early Career Award in 2000, was named one of America's Best Leaders by U.S. News and the Kennedy School of Government in 2008, and received the NASA Outstanding Public Leadership Medal in 2013. In 2015, she was awarded the Bruno Rossi Prize of the High Energy Astrophysics Division of the American Astronomical Society, and in 2016 she won the Harrie Massey Award from the International Committee on Science's (ICSU) Committee on Space Research (COSPAR). She was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the National Academy of Sciences in 2014. Harrison is a member of the National Academies' Division Committee on Engineering and Physical Sciences, and chaired the Committee on an Assessment of the Astrophysics Focused Telescope Assets (AFTA) Mission Concepts as well as recently serving on the Academies' Committee on NASA's science mission extensions. She also served as a member of the decadal survey committee on astronomy and astrophysics that authored the 2010 report, *New Worlds New Horizons in Astronomy and Astrophysics*.

Dr. Harrison succeeds the current chair, Professor David N. Spergel. Dr. Spergel will remain on the board as a vice-chair for the remainder of his current membership term on the board along with current vice-chair, Dr. Bobby Braun.