163rd MEETING OF THE

AERONAUTICS AND SPACE ENGINEERING BOARD

Monday April 29, 2019

Keck Center, Room 100 – 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Washington, D.C. (Parking lot entrance is on 6th St. NW on the East side of the 500 block)

AGENDA

EXECUTIVE SESSION					
8:30 AM	Committee Discussions				
9:15 AM	Short Break				
OPEN SESSION					
9:30 AM	Welcome and Introduction of Members and Attendees	Alan Epstein, ASEB Chair			
9:45 AM	Update and Discussion—ARMD Program	Robert Pearce, NASA Deputy Associate Administrator for ARMD			
11:00 AM	Short Break				
11:15 AM	Update and Discussion—Aeronautics Research and Technology Roundtable	Ray Colladay, ARTR Chair			
11:45 AM	Aeronautics Update and Discussion—Federal Aviation Administration	(TBC) FAA			
12:30 PM	Working Lunch Available Outside Meeting Room				
1:30 PM	Panel on Advances in Vertical Lift 20 min Presentations and 30 min Discussion Sikorsky RAIDER Program	Nick Lappos, Sikorsky Senior Technical Fellow			
	 Aurora Flight Sciences 	John Langford, CEO Aurora Flight Sciences			
	Bell Helicopters Advanced Vertical Lift Center	Jeff Schloesser, Bell Helicopters Executive Vice President for Strategic Pursuits			
3:00 PM	Short Break				
	EXECUTIVE SESSION				
3:15 PM	Committee Discussions				
6:00 PM	Meeting Adjourns for the Day – Evening Free				

JOINT SPRING MEETING

AERONAUTICS AND SPACE ENGINEERING BOARD (163rd Meeting) and SPACE STUDIES BOARD (178th Meeting)

Tuesday April 30, 2019 Keck Center, Room 100

500 Fifth Street, N.W., Washington, D.C.

(Parking lot entrance is on 6th St. NW on the East side of the 500 block)

AGENDA

EXECUTIVE SESSION			
8:00 AM	Committee Discussions		
8:45 AM	Short Break		
	OPEN SESSION		
Focus Session on U.S. Space Organization, Technology, and National Security			
9:00 AM	Introduction to Joint Session	Colleen Hartman, SSB/ASEB Director	
9:05 AM	Update and Discussion—National Security Space	Michael Griffin, Under Secretary of Defense for Research and Engineering	
10:00 AM	Short Break		
10:15 AM	Update and Discussion—NASA Programs	Jim Bridenstine, NASA Administrator	
11:15 AM	Update and Discussion—Office of Science and Technology Policy	Kelvin Droegemeier, OSTP Director	
12:15 PM	Working Lunch Available Outside Meeting Room		
1:15 PM	Update and Discussion—NASA Human Exploration Mission Directorate	(TBC) NASA Deputy Administrator for HEOMD	
2:00 PM	Update and Discussion—NASA Space Technology Mission Directorate	(TBC) NASA Deputy Administrator for STMD	
2:45 PM	Update and Discussion—Space Technology Industry-Government- University Roundtable	Wanda Sigur, STIGUR Chair	
3:15 PM	Short Break		
3:30 PM	Update and Discussion—Department of Commerce Office of Space Commerce	Kevin O'Connell, OSC Director	
4:15 PM	Update and Discussion—FAA Commercial Space Transportation	(TBC) FAA	
5:00 PM	Short Break		
	EXECUTIVE SESSION		
5:15 PM	Committee Discussions		
8:30 PM	ASEB Meeting Adjourns SSB Meeting Adjourns for the Day		

178th MEETING OF THE

SPACE STUDIES BOARD

Wednesday May 1, 2019 Keck Center, Room 100

500 Fifth Street, N.W., Washington, D.C.

(Parking lot entrance is on 6th St. NW on the East side of the 500 block)

AGENDA

	EXECUTIVE SESSION			
8:00 AM	Committee Discussions			
8:45 AM	Short Break			
	OPEN SESSION			
9:00 AM	Welcome and Introduction of Members and Attendees	Jim Crocker, SSB Vice-Chair		
9:15 AM	Update and Discussion—NASA Science	Thomas Zurbuchen Associate Administrator for NASA SMD		
10:30 AM	Short Break			
10:45 PM	 Update and Discussion—NASA SMD Division Directors Astrophysics Division Earth Science Division Heliophysics Division Planetary Science Division 	Paul Hertz, Astrophysics Director Sandra Cauffman, Acting Earth Science Director Nicola Fox, Heliophysics Director Lori Glaze, Acting Planetary Science Director		
12:30 PM	Working Lunch Available Outside Meeting Room			
1:30 PM	Updates and Discussion—SSB/ASEB/BPA Discipline Committees Committee on Planetary Science Committee on Astronomy and Astrophysics Committee on Biological and Physical Sciences in Space Committee on Earth Science and Applications from Space Committee on Solar and Space Physics	Christopher House and William McKinnon, Co-Chairs Steven Ritz and Vicki Kalogera, Co-Chairs Dava Newman and Robert Ferl, Co-Chairs Chelle Gentemann and Steven Running, Co-Chairs Sarah Gibson and Maura Hagan, Co-Chairs		
3:15 PM	Short Break			
3:30 PM	 Panel Discussion—Lunar Space Science and Exploration Agency Plans for Lunar Science Science Payloads Selected for Commercial Landers 	Jim Green, NASA Chief Scientist Steven Clarke, NASA Deputy Associate Administrator for Exploration		
	 Science Gained by Selected Payloads Lunar Volatiles—Recent Advances in Water Cycling Lunar Volatiles—Multidisciplinary Advances 	Sarah Noble or Ben Bussey Amanda Hendrix, Planetary Science Institute Orenthal Tucker, NASA Goddard		
4:45 PM	Short Break			
5:00 PM	Update and Discussion—European Space Science Committee	Athena Coustenis and Nicolas Walter, ESSC		
5:45 PM	Meeting Adjourns for the Day – Evening Free			

Thursday May 2, 2019

EXECUTIVE SESSION			
8:00 AM	Committee Discussions		
1:00 PM	Meeting Adjourns		