December 19, 2014



Current Projects

Completed Projects

Publications by Year

Publications by Topic

News & Events


CSTB's Mission

CSTB's Impact

Board Membership




Contact Us
500 Fifth Street NW
Washington, DC
Phone: (202) 334-2605
Fax: (202) 334-2318

Follow CSTB on
Facebook and Twitter


CSTB is a part of the
Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences.

Sign up for the DEPS newsletter.



Membership of the Computer Science and Telecommunications Board

The Computer Science and Telecommunications Board is composed of nationally recognized experts from across the information technology fields and complementary fields germane to the Board's interests in IT and society. These leaders are selected on the basis of their individual accomplishments; they are not appointed as representatives of organizations, but they are associated with a wide range of academic, industrial, and other affiliations. Several members of the board have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences (NAS), National Academy of Engineering (NAE), or the Institute of Medicine (IOM).

Board members are appointed by the National Academies following a rigorous vetting process, and they serve staggered terms of three to five years. Through two meetings a year and other interactions, they contribute ideas for, and oversee, CSTB's programs, with the support of its professional staff.

Robert F. Sproull (NAE), University of Massachusetts, Amherst, CSTB Chair
Luiz André Barroso, Google, Inc.
Steven M. Bellovin (NAE), Columbia University
Robert F. Brammer, Brammer Technology, LLC
Edward Frank, Brilliant Cloud & Lime Parity
Seymour E. Goodman, Georgia Institute of Technology
Laura Haas (NAE), IBM Corporation
Mark Horowitz (NAE), Stanford University
Michael Kearns, University of Pennsylvania
Robert Kraut, Carnegie Mellon University
Susan Landau, Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Peter Lee, Microsoft Corp.
David Liddle, US Venture Partners
Barbara Liskov (NAS, NAE), Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Fred B. Schneider (NAE), Cornell University
John Stankovic, University of Virginia
John Swainson, Dell, Inc.
Ernest J. Wilson, University of Southern California
Katherine Yelick, University of California, Berkeley


Copyright © 2014.| National Academy of Sciences.| All rights reserved.| 500 Fifth St. N.W., Washington, D.C. 20001.| Terms of Use and Privacy Statement