Contact Us  |  Search:   
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine
Board on Higher Education and Workforce
Board on Higher Education and Workforce
Policy and Global Affairs
Home About Us Projects Publications Membership Staff Email Updates

An ad hoc committee under the oversight of the Board on Higher Education and Workforce (BHEW), in collaboration with the Board on Science Education (BOSE), will undertake a study to examine the goals, aspirations, challenges, and successes of post-secondary institutions that enroll and serve a significant portion of our nation’s African American, Hispanic, Asian-American and Native American STEM graduates-- often collectively referred to as Minority Serving Institutions (MSIs).

This study will address the following questions:  

  1. What are examples of model programs on MSI campuses that have demonstrated strong evidence of success in producing quality STEM graduates, including those models that involve partnerships with other local institutions of higher education, the private sector, or government agencies, and those that model exemplary curricula and lab experiences? 

  2. What are the key challenges, obstacles, and opportunities facing MSIs as they continue to produce scientists, engineers and health care providers who are prepared for success in the 21st Century workplace?  In particular, what challenges are unique to MSIs (e.g., as a consequence of the demographics of the students they serve, their history of support and funding), and how are these institutions working to address those challenges?

  3. What are the key institutional components for scalability and sustainability of model programs, which may include invested leadership, durable infrastructure, or secure partnerships, and how are they promoting student success?

  4. What public policy interventions are needed to support and sustain efforts on MSI campuses? Which public policy interventions may inhibit these efforts?
For any questions or comments regarding this study, please contact the Study Director, Leigh Jackson (

Meetings & Events

Meeting 1
April 10-11, 2017
Washington, DC
Keck Center
Opening Remarks

Meeting 2
June 19, 2017
Virtual Meeting

Meeting 3

July 17-18, 2017
Washington, DC
View AGENDA here
Click here to view our July 17 Open Session Webcast

Meeting 4
September 20-21, 2017
Irvine, CA


A consensus report will be issued at the end of the project.

Committee Members

Kent McGuire Co-Chair
President and CEO
Southern Education Foundation

Lorelle L. Espinosa Co-Chair
Assistant Vice President
American Council on Education’s (ACE)
Center for Policy Research and Strategy

Jim Bertin 
Chief Dull Knife College

Anthony Carpi 
Professor of Environmental Toxicology and Dean of Research
John Jay College

Aprille Ericsson
Capture –Mission- Manager
NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

Lamont Hames
President & CEO
LMH Strategies, Inc

Wesley L. Harris (NAE)
Charles Stark Draper Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics 
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Eve J. Higginbotham
Vice Dean for Inclusion and Diversity
Perelman School of Medicine
University of Pennsylvania

William Spriggs 
Chief Economist

Victor K. Tam
Dean of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics
Santa Rosa Junior College

Cristina Villalobos
interim director
University of Texas Rio Grande Valley′s School of Mathematical and Statistical Sciences

Spero M. Manson, Ph.D. (Pembina Chippewa)
Distinguished Professor of Public Health and Psychiatry
Colorado Denver’s Anschutz Medical Center

James T. Minor
Senior Strategist for Academic Success and Inclusive Excellence
California State University

Leo S. Morales
Professor of Medicine, Chief Diversity Officer and Director of the Center for Health Equity,
Diversity and Inclusion for the School of Medicine
University of Washington

Anne-Marie Nuñez
Associate Professor of Higher Education and Student Affairs Program
Department of Educational Studies
Ohio State University

Clifton Poodry
Senior Science Education Fellow
Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Dorothy Cowser Yancy
President Emerita of Shaw University and Johnson C. Smith University (JCSU)

Lance Shipman Young 
Chair and Associate Professor,Department of Chemistry
Morehouse College


Helmsley Trust
The Sloan Foundation
The Wallace Foundation
The ECMC Foundation
The Kellogg Foundation