The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine
Board on Research Data and Information
Policy and Global Affairs
Quick Links


Contact Us
Board on Research Data and Information
Policy and Global Affairs Division
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20001

Phone: (202) 334-3049


Clifford Lynch, Co-chair
Executive Director
Coalition for Networked Information

Alexa T. McCray, Co-chair
Professor of Medicine
Harvard Medical School 

Henry Brady
Dean, Goldman School of Public Policy
University of California, Berkeley 

Kelvin Droegemeier
Vice President for Research
The University of Oklahoma
Director of Science Programs
Ecological Society of America
Stuart Feldman
Vice-President of Engineering, (ret.)
Google Inc.

Senior Physicist and Computational Scientist
Argonne National Laboratory

Elliot E. Maxwell
Chief Executive Officer 
e-Maxwell & Associates


Sara Graves
(CODATA Secretary General)
Information Technology and Systems Center
The University of Alabama in Huntsville

Bonnie Carroll
(CODATA Executive Board M ember)
President, Information International Associates

John Hildebrand
(NAS Foreign Secretary)
University of Arizona

Christine Borgman
(Co-Chair, CODATA-ICSTI Task Group on Data Citation Standards and Practices)
University of California, Los Angeles 

Kathleen M. Robinette, Ph.D.
(Co-Chair, Anthropometric Data and Engineering Task Group)
Oklahoma State University 

Kevin McCluskey
Curator, Fungal Genetics Stock Center (
Research Professor, Department of Plant Pathology, Kansas State University

Alex de Sherbinin
(Chair, Global Roads Data Development Task Group)
CIESIN, Columbia University


Peter Arzberger
Executive Director
National Partnership for Advanced Computational Infrastructure

Hugh Auchincloss
Deputy Director, NIAID

Chaitanya Baru
Director, Advanced Cyberinfrastructure Development Group
San Diego Supercomputer Center

Laura Biven
Senior Science and Technology Advisor
Office of the Deputy Director for Science Programs
Wo Chang
Group Leader, Digital Media Group
National Institute of Standards and Technology
Allen Dearry
Director, Office of Scientific Information Management
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences
Maura Marx
Institute of Museum and Library Services

Vivek Navale
National Archives and Records Administration
Lucy Nowell
Computer Scientist
Computational Science Research and Partnership (Scidac) Division, Department of Energy

Trevor Owens
Senior Program Officer, Office of Library Services
Institute of Museum and Library Services
Kamie Roberts
Associate Director for Federal and Industrial Relations
Information Technology Laboratory
National Institute of Standards and Technology
Jerry Sheehan
Assistant Director for Policy Development
National Library of Medicine, NIH
Sylvia Spengler
Program Director, Bioinformatics
National Science Foundation