December 22, 2014



About the SSB

Board Members & Staff

News & Events

Standing Committees

Decadal Surveys

Current Projects

Completed Projects

Reports By Year

Quarterly Newsletter

Lloyd V. Berkner Space Policy Internships



Contact Us

Space Studies Board
500 Fifth Street NW
Washington, DC
Phone: (202) 334-3477
Fax: (202) 334-3701

Bookmark and Share 

  Follow us on Twitter 


Assessment of NASA Science Mission Directorate 2014 Science Plan

Report Release: Review of the Draft 2014 Science Mission Directorate Science Plan

Statement of Task
An ad hoc committee will conduct an assessment of NASA's Science Mission Directorate (SMD) draft 2014 Science Plan, which will be publicly available, and issue a report addressing the following issues:

  1. Responsiveness to the NRC's guidance on key science issues and opportunities in recent NRC reports,including the NRC Decadal Surveys in solar and space physics (2012), planetary science (2011), astronomy
    and astrophysics (2010); and Earth science and applications from space (2007), and the 2012 mid-term
    assessment for Earth Science:
  2. Attention to interdisciplinary aspects and overall scientific balance;
  3. Identification and exposition of important opportunities for partnerships as well as education and public outreach;
  4. Integration of technology development with the science program;
  5. Clarity on how the plan aligns with SMD's strategic planning process;
  6. General readability and clarity of presentation; and
  7. Other relevant issues as determined by the committee.

This project is sponsored by NASA
The start date for this project is 6/01/2013
The expected report delivery date is 12/31/2013 

Visit our Current Projects Site to learn more about this project.

Committee Meetings

September 10-13, 2013

Irvine, CA
View agenda

Comiittee Membership
View Bios

Dr. James P. Bagian, NAE/IOM Chair
University of Michigan

Dr. Lennard A. Fisk, NAS
University of Michigan

Dr. Lee-Lueng Fu, NAE
Jet Propulsion Laboratory

Dr. Sarah Gibson
National Center for Atmospheric Research

Dr. J. Todd Hoeksema
Stanford University

Dr. John M. Klineberg
Loral Space and Communications, Ltd.

Dr. Stephen Mackwell
Lunar and Planetary Institute

Dr. Marcia J. Rieke, NAS
University of Arizona

Dr. Meenakshi Wadhwa
Arizona State University

Dr. Belinda Wilkes
Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory 

Dr. Steven C. Wofsy
Harvard University 

Dr. David H. Smith
Staff Officer; National Research Council


Copyright © 2014.| National Academy of Sciences.| All rights reserved.| 500 Fifth St. N.W., Washington, D.C. 20001.| Terms of Use and Privacy Statement