Skip to Main Content
  Contact Us
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine
Board on Physics and Astronomy
Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences

EPP 2010: Elementary Particle Physics in the 21st Century



Revealing the Hidden Nature of Space and Time: Charting the Course for Elementary Particle Physics

Released April 2006

As part of the Physics 2010 decadal survey project, the National Research Council was asked by the Department of Energy and the National Science Foundation to recommend priorities for the U.S. particle physics program for the next 15 years. The challenge faced in this study was to identify a compelling leadership role for the United States in elementary particle physics given the global nature of the field and the current lack of a long-term and distinguishing strategic focus. Revealing the Hidden Nature of Space and Time provides an assessment of the scientific challenges in particle physics, including the key questions and experimental opportunities, the current status of the U.S. program and the strategic framework in which it sits and a set of strategic principles and recommendations to sustain a competitive and globally relevant U.S. particle physics program.

Commitee Members and NRC Staff

Harold T. Shapiro, Chair, Princeton University
Sally Dawson, Vice Chair, Brookhaven National Laboratory
Norman R. Augustine, Lockheed Martin Corp.
Jonathan A. Bagger, Johns Hopkins University, BPA Liaison
Philip N. Burrows, University of Oxford
David J. Gross, Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics
Sandra M. Faber, University of California Observatories
Stuart J. Freedman, University of California at Berkeley
Jerome I. Friedman, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Joseph S. Hezir, EOP Group, Inc.
Norbert Holtkamp, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Takaaki Kajita, University of Tokyo
Neal F. Lane, Rice University
Nigel Lockyer, University of Pennsylvania
Sidney R. Nagel, University of Chicago
Homer A. Neal, University of Michigan
J. Ritchie Patterson, Cornell University
Helen Quinn, Stanford Linear Accelerator Center
Charles V. Shank, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Paul Steinhardt, Princeton University
Harold E. Varmus, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
Edward Witten, Institute for Advanced Study

NRC Staff

Donald C. Shapero, Director
Timothy I. Meyer,
Senior Program Officer
David B. Lang, Research Assistant

Related Links

 HEPAP-related Reports Other Reports
The Quantum Universe, report of the subpanel, chaired by P. Drell (2004)The Physics of the Universe: A Strategic Plan for Federal Research at the Intersection of Physics and Astronomy, report of the OSTP interagency working group, co-chaired by J. Dehmer, A. Kinney, and P. Rosen (2004)
Final Report of the Particle Physics Project Prioritization Panel (P5), report of the P5 subpanel, chaired by A. Seiden (2003)DOE’s Office of Science 20-year Facilities Outlook, final report prepared by R. Orbach (2003)
The Science Ahead, the Way to Discovery, report of the Long-Range Planning subpanel, chaired by J. Bagger and B.C. Barish (2001)Neutrinos and Beyond: New Windows on Nature, final report of the NRC Neutrino Facilities Assessment Committee, chaired by B. Barish (2003)
Future Planning for High Energy Physics, report of the subpanel, chaired by F. Gilman (1998)Connecting Quarks to the Cosmos: Eleven Science Questions for the New Century, final report of the NRC Committee on the Physics of the Universe, chaired by M.S. Turner (2002)
Accelerator Physics and Technology, report of the subpanel, chaired by J. Marx (1996)

Elementary-Particle Physics: Revealing the Secrets of Space and Time, final report of the NRC Committee on Elementary Particle Physics, chaired by B. Winstein (1998)


 Other Activities Laboratory Long-Range Plans
International Linear Collider Steering Committee, a committee of the International Committee on Future Accelerators (ICFA), a unit of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP), a member of the International Council of Scientific Unions (ICSU)
The Neutrino Study of the American Physical Society has released a draft of its final report


The committee is pleased to acknowledge support from the National Science Foundation and the Department of Energy.