Skip to Main Content
  Contact Us
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine
Board on Physics and Astronomy
Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences

Neutrino Facilities Assessment Committee



Neutrinos and Beyond: New Windows on Nature

Released March 2004

This project was commissioned by the Executive Offive of the President in the FY03 budget request and tasked the NRC with putting together a review of the scientific merit of the IceCube project and neutrino detectors suitable in a deep underground laboratory. The committee found that the planned IceCube experiment can open a new window on the Universe by detecting very high-energy neutrinos from objects across the Universe. The science is well motivated and exciting, the detection technique is proven, and the experiment appears ready for construction. A deep underground laboratory can house a new generation of experiments that will advance our understanding of the fundamental properties of neutrinos and the forces that govern elementary particles, as well as shedding light on the nature of the dark matter that holds the Universe together. Recent discoveries about neutrinos, new ideas and technologies, and the scientific leadership that exists in the U.S., make the time ripe to build such a unique facility. The primary scientific programs intended for the two facilities are distinct, and essentially no overlap or redundancy in either these goals or facility capabilities exist.


Committee Members and NRC Staff

Barry C. Barish, Chair, California Institute of Technology,
Daniel S. Akerib, Case Western Reserve University
Steven R. Elliott, Los Alamos National Laboratory
Patrick D. Gallagher, National Institute of Standards and Technology
Robert E. Lanou, Jr., Brown University
Peter Meszaros, Pennsylvania State University
Hitoshi Murayama, University of California, Berkeley
Angela V. Olinto, University of Chicago
Rene A. Ong, University of California, Los Angeles
R. G. Hamish Robertson, University of Washington
Nicholas P. Samios, Brookhaven National Laboratory
John P. Schiffer, Argonne National Laboratory
Frank J. Sciulli, Columbia University
Michael S. Turner, University of Chicago

NRC Staff

Donald C. Shapero,
Board Director
Timothy I. Meyer, Program Officer