Skip to Main Content
  Contact Us
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine
Board on Physics and Astronomy
Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences

Committee on Condensed-Matter and Materials Physics



Condensed-Matter and Materials Physics: Basic Research for Tomorrow's Technology

Released 1999

This book identifies opportunities, priorities, and challenges for the field of condensed-matter and materials physics. It highlights exciting recent scientific and technological developments and their societal impact and identifies outstanding questions for future research. Topics range from the science of modern technology to new materials and structures, novel quantum phenomena, nonequilibrium physics, soft condensed matter, and new experimental and computational tools.

The book also addresses structural challenges for the field, including nurturing its intellectual vitality, maintaining a healthy mixture of large and small research facilities, improving the field's integration with other disciplines, and developing new ways for scientists in academia, government laboratories, and industry to work together. It will be of interest to scientists, educators, students, and policymakers.

Committee Members and NRC Staff

Venky Narayanamurti, Chair, Harvard University
James B. Roberto, Vice Chair, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Gabriel Aeppli, NEC Research Institute
Arthur Bienenstock, Stanford Linear Accelerator Laboratory (Resigned in November, 1997 to take up position as Associate Director for Science at the Office of Science and Technology Policy, Executive Office of the President)
J. Murray Gibson, University of Illinois
Steven Girvin, Indiana University
Mark Ketchen, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center
Edward Kramer, Cornell University
James S. Langer, University of California, Santa Barbara
Cherry A. Murray, Lucent Technologies
V. Adrian Parsegian, National Institutes of Health
Paul S. Peercy, Semi/Sematech
Julia M. Phillips, Sandia National Laboratories
Robert C. Richardson, Cornell University
Frans Spaepen, Harvard University
Katepalli R. Sreenivasan, Yale University

NRC Staff

Donald C. Shapero, Director
Kevin Aylesworth,
NRC Staff Officer