Skip to Main Content
  Contact Us
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine
Board on Physics and Astronomy
Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences

Assessment of and Outlook for New Materials Synthesis and Crystal Growth



Frontiers in Crystalline Matter: From Discovery to Technology

Released November 2009

For much of the past 60 years, the U.S. research community dominated the discovery of new crystalline materials and the growth of large single crystals, placing the country at the forefront of fundamental advances in condensed-matter sciences and fueling the development of many of the new technologies at the core of U.S. economic growth. The opportunities offered by future developments in this field remain as promising as the achievements of the past. However, the past 20 years have seen a substantial deterioration in the United States' capability to pursue those opportunities at a time when several European and Asian countries have significantly increased investments in developing their own capacities in these areas. This book seeks both to set out the challenges and opportunities facing those who discover new crystalline materials and grow large crystals and to chart a way for the United States to reinvigorate its efforts and thereby return to a position of leadership in this field.

Committee Members and NRC Staff

Paul S. Peercy, Chair, University of Wisconsin at Madison
Collin L. Broholm, The Johns Hopkins University
Robert J. Cava, Princeton University
James R. Chelikowsky, University of Texas at Austin
Zachary Fisk, University of California at Irvine
Patrick D. Gallagher, National Institute of Standards and Technology
Laura H. Greene, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Eric D. Isaacs, Argonne National Laboratory
Peter B. Littlewood, University of Cambridge
Laurie E. McNeil, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Joel S. Miller, University of Utah
Loren Pfeiffer, Bell Labs, Alcatel-Lucent
Ramamoorthy Ramesh, University of California at Berkeley
Arthur P. Ramirez, Bell Labs, Alcatel-Lucent
Hidenori Takagi, University of Tokyo
Dan J. Thoma, Los Alamos National Laboratory

NRC Staff

Donald C. Shapero,
Jim Lancaster, Program Officer
Caryn Knutsen, Senior Program Assistant

The committee is pleased to acknowledge support from the Department of Energy and the National Science Foundation.