Icon Based on Science BASED ON SCIENCE
Home Acknowledgments


The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine thank the following individuals for contributing their time and expertise to Based On Science.

Katrina Armstrong, 1 Physician in Chief, Massachusetts General Hospital

Georges C. Benjamin, 1 Executive Director, American Public Health Association

Don Bradley, Consulting Professor in the Department of Community and Family Medicine, Duke University

Otis Brawley, 1 member of the National Academies’ National Cancer Policy Forum

Steven Clinton, Professor of Internal Medicine, The Ohio State University

Robert Cook-Deegan, Professor in the School for the Future of Innovation in Society, Arizona State University

Terry Davis, Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center

Mariette DiChristina, Dean of the College of Communications, Boston University

Ihuoma Eneli, Director of the Center for Healthy Weight and Nutrition, Nationwide Children’s Hospital, Columbus, Ohio

Peter C. Frumhoff, Director of Science and Policy, Union of Concerned Scientists

Karen Glanz, 1 Professor of Epidemiology and Nursing, University of Pennsylvania

Lynn Goldman, 1 Dean of the Milken Institute School of Public Health and Professor of Environmental and Occupational Health, The George Washington University

David Goldston, Director of Washington Office, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

William K. Hallman, Professor and Chair of the Department of Human Ecology, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

David D. Herring, Chief of Communication, Education and Engagement Division for the Climate Program Office, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Alice Horowitz, Research Associate Professor in Behavioral and Community Health, University of Maryland School of Public Health

Peter Hotez,1 Professor in the Departments of Pediatrics and Molecular Virology and Microbiology, Baylor College of Medicine

Scott Kahan, Medical Director of the Strategies To Overcome and Prevent (STOP) Obesity Alliance

Lee Ann Kahlor, Associate Professor in the Stan Richards School of Advertising and Public Relations, The University of Texas at Austin

Jay Kumar, State Dental Director, Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, California Department of Public Health

Grace Lee, Professor of Pediatrics (Infectious Diseases), Stanford Children’s Hospital

Tracy Lieu,1 Director of the Division of Research, Kaiser Permanente Northern California

Bill Maas, Clinical Professor, University of Maryland School of Dentistry and, Public Health Consultant, Former Director of the Division of Oral Health at the National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention at the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Philip Mote, Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate School, Oregon State University

Marian Neuhouser, Head of Cancer Prevention Program, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

Walt Orenstein,1 Professor of Medicine, Epidemiology, Global Health, and Pediatrics and Associate Director of Emory Vaccine Center, Emory University

Elizabeth Perez, Director of Communications, Education & Engagement, Harris County Public Health (Texas)

Howard Pollick, Professor of Preventive and Restorative Dental Sciences, University of California, San Francisco

Dietram Scheufele, Professor of Science Communication, University of Wisconsin–Madison

Barbara Schneeman, Professor Emeritus of Nutrition, University of California, Davis

Umair Shah, Executive Director of Harris County Public Health (Texas)

Robert F. Sproull,2 Vice President and Director of Oracle Labs (retired)

Robert S. Stern, Professor of Dermatology, Harvard Medical School and Chairman of Dermatology, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

David W. Titley, Professor of Practice in Meteorology, The Pennsylvania State University

Catherine E. Woteki,1 Professor of Food Science and Human Nutrition, Iowa State University

Peggy Wu, Associate Professor of Clinical Dermatology, University of California-Davis


1Member of the National Academy of Medicine
2Member of the National Academy of Engineering