Skip to Main Content
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine
Computer Science and Telecommunications Board
Computer Science and Telecommunications Board
Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences
Current Projects
Completed Projects
Publications by Year
Publications by Topic
News & Events
Cyber Forum
CSTB's Mission
CSTB's Impact
Board Membership

Contact Us
500 Fifth Street NW
Washington, DC
Phone: (202) 334-2605
Fax: (202) 334-2318

Follow CSTB on
Facebook and Twitter


CSTB is a part of the
Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences.

Sign up for the DEPS newsletter.



Membership of the Computer Science and Telecommunications Board

The Computer Science and Telecommunications Board is composed of nationally recognized experts from across the information technology fields and complementary fields germane to the Board's interests in IT and society. These leaders are selected on the basis of their individual accomplishments; they are not appointed as representatives of organizations, but they are associated with a wide range of academic, industrial, and other affiliations. Several members of the board have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences (NAS), National Academy of Engineering (NAE), or the Institute of Medicine (IOM).

Board members are appointed by the National Academies following a rigorous vetting process, and they serve staggered terms of three to five years. Through two meetings a year and other interactions, they contribute ideas for, and oversee, CSTB's programs, with the support of its professional staff.

Farnam Jahanian, Carnegie Mellon University, CSTB Chair
Steven M. Bellovin(NAE),Columbia University
David Culler (NAE), University of California, Berkeley
Edward Frank (NAE), Cloud Parity, Inc.
Laura Haas (NAE), University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Eric Horvitz (NAE), Microsoft Corporation
Beth Mynatt ,Georgia Institute of Technology
Craig Partridge, Colorado State University
Daniela Rus (NAE), Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Fred B. Schneider (NAE), Cornell University
Margo Seltzer, University of British Columbia
Moshe Vardi (NAS, NAE) Rice University