Skip to Main Content
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine
Computer Science and Telecommunications Board
Computer Science and Telecommunications Board
Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences
Current Projects
Completed Projects
Publications by Year
Publications by Topic
News & Events
Cyber Forum
CSTB's Mission
CSTB's Impact
Board Membership

Contact Us
500 Fifth Street NW
Washington, DC
Phone: (202) 334-2605
Fax: (202) 334-2318

Follow CSTB on
Facebook and Twitter


CSTB is a part of the
Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences.

Sign up for the DEPS newsletter.



CSTB Welcome New Board Members - July 2013

July 1, 2013. The Computer Science and Telecommunications Board (CSTB) of the National Research Council welcomes seven new members:

• Robert F. Brammer, Brammer Technology, LLC
• Luiz André Barroso, Google, Inc.
• Edward Frank, Apple, Inc.
• Laura Haas (NAE), IBM Corporation
• Mark Horowitz (NAE), Stanford University
• Michael Kearns, University of Pennsylvania
• Barbara Liskov (NAS, NAE), Massachusetts Institute of Technology

The Computer Science and Telecommunications Board is composed of nationally recognized experts from across the information technology fields and complementary fields germane to the Board's interests in IT and society. These leaders are selected on the basis of their individual accomplishments; they are not appointed as representatives of organizations, but they are associated with a wide range of academic, industrial, and other affiliations.

In addition to the new Board members, the following have been re-appointed or are continuing their terms: Jack L. Goldsmith III, Harvard Law School; Seymour E. Goodman, Georgia Institute of Technology; Robert Kraut, Carnegie Mellon University; Susan Landau,; Peter Lee, Microsoft Corporation; David Liddle, US Venture Partners; John Stankovic, University of Virginia; John Swainson, Dell, Inc.; Peter Szolovits, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Ernest J. Wilson, University of Southern California; and Katherine Yelick, University of California, Berkeley. Robert Sproull, Oracle (retired), serves as Chair of CSTB.

CSTB thanks those Board members whose terms have ended for their exceptional dedication and service to CSTB and to the broader community:

• Prithviraj Banerjee, ABB
• Jon Kleinberg (NAS ,NAE), Cornell University
• David Shaw, D.E. Shaw Research
• Alfred Spector (NAE), Google Inc.
• Peter Weinberger, Google Inc.

About CSTB: The Computer Science and Telecommunications Board was established in 1986 to provide independent advice to the federal government on technical and public policy issues relating to computing and communications. CSTB conducts studies of critical national issues that recommend actions or changes in actions by government, industry, academic researchers, and the nonprofit sector. CSTB also provides a neutral meeting ground for consideration of complex issues where resolution and action may be premature. It convenes invitational discussion sessions that bring together principals from the public and private sectors to share perspectives on all sides of an issue. A creative body, CSTB initiates a large fraction of its work. It draws on its members' insights into key trends and issues facing the computing and communications industries, the academic research community, and related professions and organizations to identify issues where it can have impact. The majority of its work is requested by federal government agencies and Congress, consistent with its charter as a unit of the National Academies.