Skip to Main Content
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine
Computer Science and Telecommunications Board
Computer Science and Telecommunications Board
Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences
Current Projects
Completed Projects
Publications by Year
Publications by Topic
News & Events
Cyber Forum
CSTB's Mission
CSTB's Impact
Board Membership

Contact Us
500 Fifth Street NW
Washington, DC
Phone: (202) 334-2605
Fax: (202) 334-2318

Follow CSTB on
Facebook and Twitter


CSTB is a part of the
Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences.

Sign up for the DEPS newsletter.



Open Source Software Development Planning Meeting

Project Scope

CSTB will conduct background research and hold an exploratory meeting for the purpose of determining an appropriate role for the NRC in examining various technical and non-technical issues surrounding "open source" software. The meeting will bring together software engineers, information security experts, and other information technologists; venture capitalists, lawyers, and economists; and representatives of major commercial users and federal agencies. The product of the meeting is expected to be a proposal describing an NRC study in this area. However, if participants believe that no NRC study should be done in this area, a short summary paper will be prepared by staff.


Susan Graham, University of California at Berkeley, Chair
Owen Ambur, U.S. CIO Council
Michael Century, McGill University
Julie Cohen, Georgetown University Law Center
Joseph Dal Molin, e-cology Corporation
Harold Feld, Media Access Project
Daniel Hitchcock, Department of Energy
Suzanne Iacono, National Science Foundation
Brian Kahin, University of Maryland
Walter Kit, NASA
Edward Lynch, IBM
David Mason, Red Hat, Inc.
Doug Maughan, DARPA/ITO
Gary McGaw, Cigital
Bob Morelli, National Security Agency
Jonathan Root, NASA
Ira Rubinstein, Microsoft
Lee Sproull, New York University
Tony Stanco, Cyberspace Policy Institute
Susan Turnbull, General Services Administration
Grant Wagner, National Security Agency


Lynette I. Millett, Program Officer
Brandye Williams, Project Assistant
Marjory S. Blumenthal, Executive Director