Skip to Main Content
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine
Committee on National Statistics
Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education
Standing Committee on the Future of NSF-Supported Social Science Surveys

The Committee on National Statistics has appointed a standing committee to assist the National Science Foundation (NSF) in its responsibilities to monitor and develop the most promising trajectories for the three major ongoing social science surveys funded by NSF's Social, Behavioral and Economic Sciences (SBE) Directorate over the past 40 years. These surveys are the American National Election Studies (ANES), the General Social Survey (GSS), and the Panel Study of Income Dynamics (PSID). The standing committee will inform NSF's efforts to develop options for the future of the ANES, GSS, and PSID that improve on their relevance and cost-effectiveness through discussion of topics such as:

1) the history of the surveys and the kinds of users and uses they have supported;
2) the operations of the surveys from conceptualization to data dissemination, including how they adapt to changes in
    the societal phenomena they study and in the needs of data users; and

3) the costs and benefits of alternative options for going forward.

The committee discussion may identify topics that warrant further exploration either via workshops, consensus studies, or other mechanisms. The standing committee itself will not produce or be involved in the development of any reports. 

Sponsor: National Science Foundation

Click here to view materials from Committee meetings


Barbara Entwisle (Chair), University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Dan A. Black, University of Chicago Harris School of Public Policy
Henry E. Brady, University of California, Berkeley Department of Political Science
Angus S. Deaton, Princeton University School of Public and International Affairs
Morris P. Fiorina, Jr., Stanford University Department of Political Science
Myron P. Gutmann, University of Colorado, Boulder Institute of Behavioral Science
Darrick Hamilton, The Milano School of International Affairs, Management, and Urban Policy 
Pamela Herd, University of Wisconsin, Madison School of Public Affairs
Jon Krosnick, Stanford University, Department of Communication
Michael W. Link, Abt SRBI, Inc.
Shelly J. Lundberg, University of California, Santa Barbara Department of Economics
David R. Williams, Harvard University Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences

Member Biographies


Cynthia Thomas, Study Director
Eileen LeFurgy, Program Coordinator

Home BOHSI Home BOSE Home BECS Home BCYF Home TAC Home Home BOTA Home CPOP Home CNSTAT Home CLAJ Home BBCSS Home Home About BOSE BOSE Mission BOSE Members BOSE Staff Our Sponsors Visiting our Buildings About BBCSS BBCSS History BBCSS Members BBCSS Staff Our Sponsors About CPOP CPOP Mission CPOP Members CPOP Staff About CNSTAT CNSTAT Members CNSTAT Staff CNSTAT Mission Other Sites of Interest TEstTAc2 About CLAJ CLAJ Mission CLAJ Members CLAJ Staff About BECS BECS Mission/History BECS Brochure BECS Members BECS Staff About BCYF BCYF History BCYF Graphic Illustration BCYF Members BCYF Staff About BOHSI BOHSI History BOHSI Members BOHSI Staff Our Sponsors Forum Home About Us Mission and Goals History Members Sponsors About BOTA BOTA Mission BOTA Members Visiting Our Buildings