Skip to Main Content
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine
Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education
Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education
The oversight of DBASSE’s work is entrusted to an advisory committee, which is responsible for shaping the division’s intellectual and strategic goals and providing direction on emerging issues in the social and behavioral sciences and education. The advisory committee also performs strategic reviews of the division’s boards and standing committees on a regular basis, and serves as a resource to DBASSE staff by participating in division activities, identifying potential participants for standing and study committees, and interacting with relevant professional communities.


Michael Hout, Chair, (NAS), Professor of Sociology, New York University
Claire D. Brindis, (NAM), Caldwell B. Esselstyn Chair in Health Policy Studies Director, Philip R. Lee Institute
    for Health Policy Studies; Professor of Pediatrics and Health Policy, University of California, San Francisco
Alicia Carriquiry, (NAM), Professor of Statistics at Iowa State University
Jonathan P. Caulkins, (NAE), H. Guyford Stever University Professor of Operations
     Research and Public Policy
Rita Colwell, (NAS), Distinguished University Professor Center for
     Bioinformatics & Computational Biology, University of Maryland, College Park
Mirta Galesic, Professor and Cowan Chair in Human Social Dynamics, Santa Fe Institute
Margaret Honey, President and CEO, New York Hall of Science
James S. Jackson, (NAM), Director and Research Professor, Institute for Social Research
     and Daniel Katz Distinguished University Professor of Psychology,
     University of Michigan
Diana Liverman, Co-Director, Institute of the Environment, University of Arizona
Cora B. Marrett, Emeritus Professor in the Department of Sociology, University
     of Wisconsin—Madison
Valerie Reyna, (NAM), Professor of Human Development and Psychology at Cornell
     University and Co-Director of the Center for Behavioral Economics and
     Decision Research
William Rouse, (NAE), Alexander Crombie Humphreys Professor, School of Systems and
     Enterprises, Stevens Institute of Technology
Jeremy A. Sabloff, (NAS), External Professor Emeritus of the Santa Fe Institute
Robert Sampson, (NAS), Henry Ford II Professor of the Social Sciences, 
     Harvard University
Gary Sandefur, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs,
     Professor of Sociology, Oklahoma State University
Dietram Scheufele, John E. Ross Professor in Science Communication, 
     Vilas Distinguished Achievement Professor, University of Wisconsin, Madison 
Ebonya Washington, Samuel C. Park Jr. Professor of Economics, Yale University
Peter Zandan, Global Vice Chairman, Hill and Knowlton Strategies, Research+Data
     Insights, Austin, TX 


Home ABOUT DBASSE Mission Advisory Committee Hauser Policy Impact Fund Henry and Bryna David Lecture DBASSE Staff DBASSE Brochure Topics in the News News & Events Upcoming Events Social and Behavioral Sciences in Action Henry and Bryna David Lecture Our Work Roundtable on the Communication and
Use of Social and Behavioral Sciences
Forum for Children's Well-Being Standing Committee on Advancing Science
Communication Research and Practice
Other Roundtables and Forums Board on Behavioral, Cognitive, and Sensory Sciences Board on Children, Youth, and Families Board on Environmental Change and Society Board on Human-Systems Integration Board on Science Education Committee on Law and Justice Committee on National Statistics Committee on Population Teacher Advisory Council Office of Testing and Assessment Publications DBASSE Reports Video Archive Work With Us Our Study Process Study Process Brochure Getting to Know the Committee Process Overview for Sponsors Guide for Study Sponsors DBASSE Consensus Studies DBASSE Convening Activities Examples of DBASSE Studies
left imagetext captioncenter image