Skip to Main Content
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine
Space Studies Board
Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences
Board Members
Board Meetings
Discipline Committees
Decadal Surveys
Current Projects
Completed Projects
Lloyd V. Berkner Space Policy Internships

Contact Us

Space Studies Board
500 Fifth Street, NW
Washington, DC
Phone: (202) 334-3477
Fax: (202) 334-3701

Bookmark and Share 

  Follow us on Twitter 

Review of NASA's Science Mission Directorate's Science Plan

Project Scope

An ad hoc committee conducted an assessment of NASA's draft Science Plan (to read the final Science Plan click here), which was made publicly available, and issued a report of the assessment. The Science Plan includes: planetary exploration, solar and space physics, astrobiology, earth sciences, and astronomy and astrophysics (excluding life and microgravity sciences, which are not the responsibility of the Science Mission Directorate. NASA asked the NRC to review the agency's draft science plan with respect to the following issues:

-Responsiveness to NRC recommendations in recent reports;
-Attention to interdisciplinary aspects and overall scientific ba
-Utility to stakeholders in the scientific community; and
-General readability and clarity of presentation.

The project was sponsored by NASA.

Read the Report on Review of NASA's Science Mission Directorate's Science Plan

Committee Membership:

Mr. A. Thomas Young - (Chair)
Lockheed Martin Corporation [Retired]

Prof. John P. Huchra
Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics


Dr. Spiro K. Antiochos
Naval Research Laboratory

Dr. Ralph Lorenz
University of Arizona


Dr. Ana P. Barros
Duke University
Dr. Daniel McCammon
University of Wisconsin-Madison


Dr. James L. Burch
Southwest Research Institute


Dr. Anneila I. Sargent
California Institute of Technology

Dr. Antonio J. Busalacchi, Jr.
University of Maryland, College Park

Dr. Jessica Sunshine
University of Maryland, College Park

Dr. Jack D. Farmer
Arizona State University
Dr. Carl Wunsch
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Ms. Margaret Finarellli
George Mason University












Dwayne Day
Study Director, Space Studies Board