Skip to Main Content
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine
Space Studies Board
Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences
Board Members
Board Meetings
Discipline Committees
Decadal Surveys
Current Projects
Completed Projects
Lloyd V. Berkner Space Policy Internships

Contact Us

Space Studies Board
500 Fifth Street, NW
Washington, DC
Phone: (202) 334-3477
Fax: (202) 334-3701

Bookmark and Share 

  Follow us on Twitter 

Committee on the Assessment of NASA's Earth Science Programs

Statement of Task

The National Research Council shall convene an ad-hoc committee to review the alignment of NASA's Earth Science Division's program with previous NRC advice, primarily the 2007 NRC decadal survey report, Earth Science and Applications from Space: National Imperatives for the Next Decade and Beyond. The committee's review will describe:

  • How well NASA?s current program addresses the strategies, goals, and priorities outlined in the 2007 decadal survey and other relevant NRC reports?;
  • Progress toward realizing these strategies, goals and priorities; and
  • In the context of current and forecast resources, any actions that could be taken to optimize the science value of the program.

The review should not revisit or alter the scientific priorities or mission recommendations provided in the decadal survey and related NRC reports, but may provide guidance about implementing the recommended mission portfolio in preparation for the next decadal survey.

View the report:  Earth Science and Applications from Space: A Midterm Assessment of NASA's Implementation of the Decadal Survey

Committee Membership

Dr. Dennis L. Hartmann - (Chair)
University of Washington

 Dr. Mark R. Abbott
Oregon State University

Dr. Richard A. Anthes
University Corporation for Atmospheric Research

Dr. Philip E. Ardanuy
Raytheon Intelligence and Information Systems

Dr. Stacey Boland
Jet Propulsion Laboratory

Dr. Antonio J. Busalacchi, Jr.
University of Maryland, College Park

Dr. Anny Cazenave
Centre National d'Etudes Spatiales (CNES)

Dr. Ruth S. DeFries
Columbia University

Dr. Lee-Lueng Fu
Jet Propulsion Laboratory

 Dr. Bradford H. Hager
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Dr. Hung-Lung (Allen) Huang
University of Wisconsin-Madison

Dr. Anthony C. Janetos
University of Maryland, College Park

Dr. Dennis P. Lettenmaier
University of Washington

Dr. Jennifer A. Logan
Harvard University

Dr. Molly K. Macauley
Resources for the Future

 Dr. Anne W. Nolin
Oregon State University

Dr. Joyce E. Penner
University of Michigan

Dr. Michael J. Prather
University of California, Irvine

Dr. David S. Schimel
National Ecological Observatory Network, Inc.

Mr. William F. Townsend
Independent Consultant

Dr. Thomas H. Vonder Haar
Colorado State University