Skip to Main Content
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine
Space Studies Board
Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences
Board Members
Board Meetings
Discipline Committees
Decadal Surveys
Current Projects
Completed Projects
Lloyd V. Berkner Space Policy Internships

Contact Us

Space Studies Board
500 Fifth Street, NW
Washington, DC
Phone: (202) 334-3477
Fax: (202) 334-3701

Bookmark and Share 

  Follow us on Twitter 

An Assessment of the Astrophysics Focused Telescope Assets (AFTA) Mission Concepts

View Release Report :Evaluation of the Implementation of WFIRST/AFTA in the Context of New Worlds, New Horizons in Astronomy and Astrophysics

An ad hoc committee will assess whether NASA's proposed Astrophysics Focused Telescope Assets (AFTA) design reference mission described in the April 30, 2013 report of the AFTA Science Definition Team (SDT), WFIRST-2.4, is responsive to the overall strategy to pursue the science objectives of New Worlds, New Horizons in Astronomy and Astrophysics (NWNH), and in particular, the survey’s top-ranked, large-scale, space-based priority: the Wide Field Infrared Survey Telescope (WFIRST).  The committee will consider the versions of WFIRST-2.4 with and without the coronagraph, as described in the AFTA SDT report. In its assessment, the committee will:

1. Compare the WFIRST mission described in New Worlds, New Horizons to the AFTA SDT WFIRST-2.4 design reference mission, with and without the coronagraph, on the basis of their science objectives, technical complexity, and programmatic rationale, including projected cost.

2. Based on the above comparison and taking into account any relevant scientific, technical, and programmatic changes that have occurred since the release of New Worlds, New Horizons:
   a) Assess the responsiveness of the AFTA SDT WFIRST-2.4 mission, with and without the coronagraph, to the overall strategy to pursue the science objectives of NWNH---and in particular, WFIRST; and
   b) Assess the responsiveness of the AFTA SDT WFIRST-2.4 mission with the coronagraph to the precursor science and technology objectives of the New Worlds technology development program described in NWNH.

 View more about this committee on our current projects system.


January 12-14, 2014
Washington, DC
 View Presentations

Committee Members

View Committee Bios

Dr. Fiona A. Harrison - (Chair)
California Institute of Technology

Dr. Marcia J. Rieke - (Vice Chair)
University of Arizona

Dr. Roger D. Blandford
Stanford University

Mr. Erik L. Burgess
Burgess Consulting, Inc.

Dr. John E. Carlstrom
The University of Chicago

Dr. Megan Donahue
Michigan State Universit

Dr. Timothy M. Heckman
Johns Hopkins University

Dr. James Patrick Lloyd
Cornell University

Dr. Miguel Morales
University of Washington

Dr. Edward L. Wright
University of California, Los Angeles

Mr. A. Thomas Young
Lockheed Martin Corporation [Retired]


View Presentations
We have only  posted the presentations which have ben made available to us by the presenter.
January 12-13, 2014

Neil Gehrels, AFTA Study Scientist, NASA GSFC, and David Spergel, Princeton
Jeremy Kasdin, Princeton
Paul Hertz, Director, NASA Astrophysics Division
Kevin Grady, AFTA Study Manager, NASA GSFC
Robert Kellogg and Randy Persinger (by phone), Aerospace Corp.
John Trauger, JPL
Marc Kuchner, NASA GSFC
David Spergel, Princeton