

International Union of Radio Science U.S. Commission B

R. J. Pogorzelski, Chair D. R. Jackson, Vice-Chair

S. Rengarajan, Secretary

Please reply to:

Sembiam R. Rengarajan Dept. of ECE,

California State University Northridge, CA 91330-8346 phone: (818) 677-3571 fax: (818) 677-7062

e-mail: srengarajan@csun.edu

MINUTES Commission B Business meeting

National Radio Science Meeting Boulder, CO January 5, 2005

- **1.** Chair R. J. Pogorzelski called the meeting to order at 17:30 hrs. He welcomed all members and guests. Attendance list is provided at the end of the minutes.
- **2.** The minutes of the June 21, 2004 meeting of Commission B held at Monterey, CA were approved.

Report from the Chair

- **3.** Chair Pogorzelski stated that Commission B needs to elect a new vice chair for the three year term starting from the next General Assembly. The present vice chair D. Jackson will be the new chair. The chair would like suggestions for candidates.
- **4.** Chair Pogorzelski stated that people who want to organize special sessions at the Boulder 2006 National Radio Science Meeting should contact J. Volakis or R. Pogorzelski soon. P. Uslenghi wants the list by the end of February at the USNC.
- 5. There was a discussion on whether to have CD's or printed digests at the AP-S/URSI meetings. It was the sense of the Commission B that the CD is the preferred medium and that printed digests be available for people to choose at the time of pre-registration. It was also felt that some printed digests should be available at the meeting for reference.
- **6.** USNC is looking for a volunteer to maintain its website.

- 7. There was a discussion on whether the proposed summer meeting at Toronto in 2009 should be a North American Radio Science/AP-S or not. Since the 2007 Ottawa meeting will be a North American Radio Science meeting, it was the sense of the Commission B that the Toronto meeting be AP-S/USNC Commission B meeting with the Canadian participation.
- **8.** A preliminary proposal is required for choosing the venue for URSI General Assembly in 2008. It was suggested that USNC propose Denver for hosting 2008 General Assembly.
- **9.** Nominations were sought for USNC secretary/Chair-elect. R. Pogorzelski was nominated, seconded and approved.

Committee Reports

- **10.** D.R. Wilton presented the membership committee report. The committee members are J. W. Mink, L. Kempel, D. R. Wilton and S. Hagness (chair).
 - Prof. Robert Adams (University of Kentucky) and Dr. Karl Warnick (Brigham Young University) were nominated for Full Membership. Both nominations were approved by a voice vote.
- 11. J.L. Volakis, the chair of the Technical Activities Committee presented a report. The Committee members for the 2002-2005 term are: Prof. George Eleftheriades, Prof. Nader Engheta, Dr. Danilo Erricolo, Prof. Joel T. Johnson, Prof. Eric Michielssen, Prof. Dimitrios Perouris, Prof. John L. Volakis (Chair), Prof. Yahya Rahmat-Samii, Prof. Christos Christodoulou, and Prof. Jinming Song. He stated that there are ten URSI B sessions and 71 papers at the Boulder 2005 meeting. He also stated that in the AP-S/URSI Washington, D.C. meeting sixteen special sessions (ten of them by URSI B) and sixteen organized sessions (eleven by URSI B) have been proposed.
- **12.** There was a discussion on special sessions and organized or focused sessions. The following guidelines about special sessions developed by David Jackson were presented and approved by the members.

Have a limit of 16 "special sessions". A special session would be one that is somehow *unique* or *cross-disciplinary*. The fact that someone organizes a session on a timely topic does not make it "special".

Have a separate category of sessions that are organized by people interested in volunteering to organize a session on a particular "hot" topic. The idea here is that the organizers are the experts in the area of the session, so they would have control of who to invite. Some of the papers in these sessions could be contributed, however. These organized sessions would not be given a particular name, but in the program it would be acknowledged who the organizers are. Perhaps there should be a reasonable limit to the number of such sessions, and 16 might be a reasonable number (the same limit as for the special sessions).

The Technical Activities Committee would have the authority to increase the limits for the number of special and organized sessions if it was deemed appropriate, however.

There needs to be clear guidelines on the conference web pages each year, regarding how to handle special sessions. This seems to slip through the cracks every year.

- 13. Chair Pogorzelski stated that there will be a partial funding of about \$800 to people selected to participate in the URSI General Assembly. He will seek the votes from the commission B members soon. The abstracts for the General Assembly are due Feb. 1 and the Young Scientists award applications are due Jan .15.
- **14.** For the next meeting at Boulder in 2006 it was suggested that Commissions B and C collaborate on a theme of 'Time reversal'.
- **15.** P. Uslenghi stated that for the student paper contest the candidate should have been a full-time student during the year preceding the National Radio Science Meeting whereas to be eligible for travel grant the candidate should be a student at the time of the meeting.
- **16.** P. Uslenghi suggested that USNC consider a third category of members called student members of USNC The student members may be tracked and eventually nominated to regular membership.
- **17.** A report on the upcoming meetings was given. A complete list of future meetings may be found in the AP-S and URSI websites. (http://www.ursi.org/)

National Radio Science Boulder January 2006 Alexandria, Egypt May 2007 URSI EM Theory Symposium Washington, DC APS/URSI July 2005 Albuquerque APS/URSI/AMEREM 2006 URSI (US & Canada) Ottawa, Canada 2007 APS/URSI San Diego 2008

- **18.** R. Pogorzelski welcomed the newly elected members of the USNC Commission B.
- 19. Old Business: None
- 20. New Business: None
- **21.** The meeting was adjourned at 18:30 hours.

Guest Attendance List

R. Adams, Y.M.M. Antar, R. Baktur, G. Eleftheriades, M. Lockard, Y. Patenaude, S. Rahman, A. Shivola, J. Venkatesan

Members and Associate Members in Attendance

G.S. Brown, N. Engheta, D. Erricolo, T. Itoh, D.R. Jackson, E.F. Kuester, R.H. Lang, G. Lazzi, H. Mosallaei, R.J. Pogorzelski, S.R. Rengarajan, W.R. Stone, E. Topsakal, P. Uslenghi, J.L. Volakis, D.R. Wilton, A.B. Yokovlev, R.W. Ziolkowski

Respectfully submitted by Sembiam R. Rengarajan Secretary