Skip to Main Content
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine
Space Studies Board
Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences
Board Members
Board Meetings
Discipline Committees
Decadal Surveys
Current Projects
Completed Projects
Lloyd V. Berkner Space Policy Internships

Contact Us

Space Studies Board
500 Fifth Street, NW
Washington, DC
Phone: (202) 334-3477
Fax: (202) 334-3701

Bookmark and Share 

  Follow us on Twitter 

The Effects of Solar Variability on Earth's Climate: A Workshop

View the Report: 
The Effects of Solar Variability on Earth's Climate:
A Workshop Report

Statement of Task

An ad hoc committee will plan and conduct a public workshop that will examine the state of knowledge regarding the climate response to solar variability and will explore some of the outstanding scientific issues that might guide future research thrusts.

The committee will hold a data-gathering meeting in the process of developing the agenda for the workshop and defining the specific topics for invited presentations and discussions. The committee will subsequently select and invite speakers and other participants and moderate the discussions at the event.The committee will prepare a workshop report that will summarize what transpired at the event but will not contain any findings or recommendations. 

For more information visit our current projects site.

Past Meetings

Workshop: September 8-9, 2011, Boulder, CO
NCAR Mesa Lab

April 21, 2011, Teleconference

April 25, 2011 Washington, DC

May 18, 2011, Teleconference

July 1, 2011, Teleconference

Comittee Membership

Committee Biography Information

Dr. Gerald R. North - (Chair)
Texas A&M University-College Station

Dr.  Daniel N. Baker
University of Colorado at Boulder

Dr. Raymond S. Bradley
University of Massachusetts at Amherst

Dr. Peter Foukal
Heliophysics, Inc.

Dr. Joanna D. Haigh
Imperial College London 

Dr. Isaac M. Held
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration 

Dr. Gerald A. Meehl
National Center for Atmospheric Research

Dr. Larry J. Paxton
Johns Hopkins University, Applied Physics

Dr. Peter A. Pilewskie
University of Colorado at Boulder

Dr. Carolus J. Schrijver
Lockheed Martin Advanced Technology Center

Dr. Ka-Kit Tung
University of Washington