Subscribe to our mailing list  |  Search:  
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine
Jefferson Science Fellowship
Fellowships Office
Policy and Global Affairs
Home About Applicants Fellows Contact Fellowships Home

The Jefferson Science Fellows program is a means for providing the U.S. Department of State access to additional high-level science and technology expertise. This resource can be especially helpful at a time when the Department has given a high priority to science, technology, and engineering in meeting our global diplomacy and development challenges. The Fellows bring a broad range of scientific and technical expertise in areas such as physics, chemistry, information technology, life sciences, engineering, environment, agriculture, health, and social sciences. The JSF program provides both functional and regional bureaus in the Department with access to scientific and technical expertise and allows the Department to leverage these senior leaders’ broad scientific and professional networks. Universities across the United States in turn benefit from the insights in foreign policy and diplomacy gained by their senior faculty and from new international linkages vital for success in a rapidly globalizing education and research enterprise.


U.S. Department of State Offices and Bureaus: The following bureaus and offices at the U.S. Department of State are among those that have offered assignments in the past to Jefferson Fellows. Note that not all offices are always able to host a fellow every year and new offices participate in the program for the first time every cycle.

Under Secretary for Arms Control and International Security
Front Office

Bureau of International Security and Nonproliferation

Office of the Biological Policy Staff (ISN/BPS)
Office of Cooperative Threat Reduction (ISN/CTR)

Bureau of Arms Control, Verification and Compliance
Front Office

Office of Verification, Planning, and Outreach (AVC/VPO)

Bureau of Political-Military Affairs

Office of Global Programs and Initiatives

Under Secretary for Civilian Security, Democracy, and Human Rights

Bureau of Counterterrorism and Countering Violent Extremism

Bureau of International Narcotics and Law Enforcement Affairs

Bureau of Conflict and Stabilization Operations

Office of Analysis, Planning, Programs, and Learning

Bureau of Democracy, Human Rights, and Labor

Office of International Labor Affairs (DRL/ILA)

Office to Monitor and Combat Trafficking in Persons (J/TIP)

Under Secretary for Economic Growth, Energy, and the Environment

Office of the Science and Technology Adviser to the Secretary

Bureau of Economic and Business Affairs

Division for Trade Policy and Negotiations, Agricultural Policy (EB/TPN/AG)
Division for International Communications and Information Policy (EB/CIP)
Division for Trade Policy and Negotiations, Intellectual Property Enforcement (EB/TPN/IPE)

Bureau of Energy Resources

Office of Energy Transformation (ENR/ETR)

Bureau of Oceans and International Environmental and Scientific Affairs

Office of Science and Technology Cooperation (OES/ENV)
Office of International Health and Biodefense (OES/IHB)
Office of Conservation and Water (OES/ECW)

Under Secretary for Political Affairs

Bureau of African Affairs

Office of Economic Policy (AF/ERA)

Bureau of East Asian and Pacific Affairs

Office of Australia, New Zealand, and Pacific Island Affairs (EAP/ANP)
Office of Economic Policy (EAP/EP)
Office of Multilateral Affairs (EAP/MLA)
Office of Japan Affairs (EAP/J)
Office of Regional and Security Policy (EAP/RSP)

Bureau of European and Eurasian Affairs

Office of Central European Affairs (EUR/CE)
Office of South Central European Affairs (EUR/SCE)

Bureau of International Organization Affairs

Office of Technical Specialized Agencies (IO/STA)

Bureau of Near Eastern Affairs

Iraq Office (NEA/I)

Bureau of Western Hemisphere Affairs

Office of Public Diplomacy and Public Affairs (WHA/PDA)

The Office of the Secretary

Bureau of Intelligence and Research

Office of Economic Analysis (INR/EC)
Office of the Geographer and Global Issues (INR/GGI)

Executive Secretariat

Office of the Coordinator for Cyber Issues (S/CCI)

Office of the Global Food Security

Office of the U.S. Global AIDS Coordinator

Office of U.S. Foreign Assistance Resources

Policy Analysis (F/PA)

Under Secretary for Management

Bureau of Consular Affairs

Passport Office
Visa Office

Bureau of Information Resource Management

Office of eDiplomacy (IRM/eDIP)

Office of Management Policy, Rightsizing, and Innovation

Bureau of Diplomatic Security

Countermeasures Program Division/Technical Surveillance Countermeasures Branch (DS/CMP/TSC)

Bureau of Overseas Building Operations (OBO)

Office of Master Planning and Evaluation/Master Planning Division

Foreign Service Institute

Bureau of Global Public Affairs (GPA)

Office of Regional and Functional Strategy

Under Secretary for Public Diplomacy and Public Affairs

Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs