Contact Us  |  Search:  
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine
Jefferson Science Fellowship
Fellowships Office
Policy and Global Affairs
Home About Applicants Fellows Contact Fellowships Home


Learn more about the former and current Jefferson Science Fellows, and read about each Fellow's experience
at the U.S. Department of State or the U.S. Agency for International Development, including which bureaus and offices

Fellows worked in, what type of projects Fellows led or joined, and more.

View the complete listing of Jefferson Fellows (PDF 650KB) or find a specific Jefferson Fellow below.



 2009   2008  2007  2006   2005  



2016 Jefferson Science Fellows

Dr. Barrett Caldwell

Dr. Meredith Gore

Dr. Robert Heimer

Dr. David Jiles

Dr. Karen Lips

Dr. Shelie Miller

Dr. Sharmila Mukhopadhyay

Dr. Sumant Nigam

Dr. Oladele Ogunseitan

Dr. Kathleen Purvis-Roberts

Dr. K.P. Subbalakshmi

Dr. Kathleen Vogel


2015 Jefferson Science Fellows

Dr. Abul Fazal Mohammad Anwar

Dr. Michael W. Hamburger 

Dr. Jill Kanaley

Dr. Darlene R. Ketten

Dr. Garrick Louis

Dr. Margaret Martonosi

Dr. Pamela McCauley

Dr. Esther Obonyo

Dr. W. Tad Pfeffer

Dr. Carolyn M. Teschke

Dr. Johannes W. Vieweg


2014 Jefferson Science Fellows

Dr. James Alleman 

Dr. Robert Axelrod 

Dr. Alice Bean

Dr. Concetta DiRusso

Dr. Thomas Crisman

Dr. Steve Greenbaum

Dr. David Hajjar

Dr. Melinda Laituri

Dr. David Lodge

Dr. Daniel Oerther

Dr. Anil Pahwa

Dr. Martin Richardson

Dr. Charles Santerre

2013 Jefferson Science Fellows

Dr. Jonathan Colton 

Dr. Frederick Davies 

Dr. Frank Ettensohn

Dr. Gabriel Filippelli

Dr. Stephanie Forrest

Dr. Sarah Green

Dr. Michael Kron

Dr. Elizabeth Montgomery Collins

Dr. Kendall Nygard

Dr. Kannappan Palaiappan

Dr. B.L. Ramakrishna

Dr. Mo Salman

Dr. Michael Shur


2012 Jefferson Science Fellows

Dr. David R. Benson 

Dr. Suryanarayana Challapalli 

Dr. M. Samy El-Shall

Dr. Maureen M. Goodenow

Dr. Sara Harkness

Dr. Raj Khosla

Dr. Roger Kjelgren

Dr. Clyde Martin

Dr. Richard Matzner

Dr. Brook Milligan

Dr. Jean Beagle Ristaino

Dr. Rajan Sen


2011 Jefferson Science Fellows

Dr. Norma Allewell

Dr. Robert Balster

Dr. Peter J. Davies

Dr. Mark Eberhart

Dr. Nwadiuto Esiobu

Dr. Bradley Fenwick

Dr. Devinder Mahajan

Dr. Richard Marston

Dr. Alan McHughen

Dr. Timothy O’Brien

Dr. Max Rothschild

Dr. Darin Toohey

Dr. Curtis L. Weller


                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                     2010 Jefferson Science Fellows

Dr. Bruce Conn

Dr. Brett DePaola

Dr. Nicholas Farrell

Dr. Suresh Garimella

Dr. Jay Gore

Dr. Douglas Laube

Dr. David Lea

Dr. Thomas Miller

Dr. Peter Revesz

Dr. Arthur Sanderson

Dr. Nicholas Suntzeff

Dr. Mitchell Turker


2009 Jefferson Science Fellows

Dr. Cynthia Baldwin

Dr. Jerome Dobson

Dr. Diana Farkas

Dr. Paul Kintner

Dr. Deborah Lawrence

Dr. Najmedin Meshkati

Dr. Wayne Pennington

Dr. John Savage

Dr. James Stone

Dr. Kenneth Verosub






2008 Jefferson Science Fellows



Dr. Robert Butera

Dr. Tim DeVoogd

Dr. Michael El-Batanouny

Dr. Steven Garrett

Dr. Steven Geary

Dr. Philip K. Hopke

Dr. Mohammed A. Zikry

2007 Jefferson Science Fellows


Dr. Janaki R.R. Alavalapati

Dr. Ross B. Corotis

Dr. Elsa Garmire

Dr. Purusottam Jena

Dr. Marvin Paule

Dr. Jerry Peterson

Dr. Syed Rizvi

Dr. John Yeh


2006 Jefferson Science Fellows

Dr. Osama O. Awadelkarim 

Dr. Kim Boyer 

Dr. Claudio Cioffi-Revilla

Dr. Paul Davis

Dr. Michael Mauel

Dr. Katherine Seley-Radtke

2005 Jefferson Science Fellows

Dr. William S. Hammack

Dr. James Harrington

Dr. Alexander King

Dr. Michael Prather

Dr. Edward Samulski


2004 Jefferson Science Fellows

Dr. Julian Adams

Dr. Bruce Averill

Dr. Melba Crawford

Dr. David Eastmond

Dr. Kalidas Shetty 

To the Top

ight" style="margin-left: 40px">To the Top