Contact Us  |  Search:   
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine
Board on Higher Education and Workforce
Board on Higher Education and Workforce
Policy and Global Affairs
Home About Us Projects Publications Membership Staff Email Updates

Open Session Meeting
July 17, 2017
9:30am -5:00pm (EDT)

Meeting Location:
American Council on Education
One Dupont Circle NW
Washington, DC 20036


9:30 a.m. Welcome and Introduction to Study
Mr. Tom Rudin, Director, Board on Higher Education and Workforce,
National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
Dr. Lorelle Espinosa, Committee Co-Chair
Dr. Kent McGuire, Committee Co-Chair

9:40 a.m. Introductory Remarks
The Value of Diversity in Higher Education and the 21st Century Workforce
Dr. Earl Lewis, President, The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation

10:00 a.m. PANEL 1: Current Challenges and Opportunities for MSIs
Dr. Robert Terry Palmer, Associate Professor, Howard University
Chancellor Judy Miner, Chancellor, Foothill-De Anza Community College District
Dr. Julie Park, Assistant Professor, University of Maryland, College Park
Dr. Lee Bitsoi, Chief Diversity Officer, Stony Brook University
Moderator: Dr. Cecilia Rios Aguilar, Associate Professor, Director of the Higher Educational Research Institute, UCLA

11:00 a.m. Q/A with audience

11:30 p.m. Break for Lunch
(Catered lunch for committee and guest speakers)

12:30 p.m. PANEL 2: Innovative Programs and Strategies on MSI Campuses
Dr. Herb Schroeder, Founder, Vice Provost, Alaska Native Science and Engineering Program powerpoint
Ms. Rachael Brown, Associate Professor, STEM Accelerator Grant Professional Development Coach, South Texas College powerpoint
Dr. Wil Del Pilar, Vice President of Higher Education Policy and Practice, The Education Trust
Moderator: Dr. Anthony Carpi, Committee member

1:15 p.m. Q/A with audience

1:45 p.m. PANEL 3: Partnerships with Business, Industry, Government Agencies
Mr. Derek McGowan, Program Manager, Higher Education Institutions, Global Diversity and Inclusion, Lockheed Martin
Mr. Melvin Greer, Grant Managing Director and Senior Research Fellow, Greer Institute for Leadership and Innovation powerpoint
Dr. Tien Pham, Senior Campaign Scientist, Information Sciences, U.S. Army Research Laboratory powerpoint
Mr. Johnny C. Taylor, Jr., President and CEO, Thurgood Marshall Fund
Moderator: Dr. Chad Womack, National Director, STEM Initiatives and the
Fund II Foundation UNCF STEM Scholars Program

2:45 p.m. Q/A with audience

3:15 p.m. Break

3:30 p.m. PANEL 4: Ensuring the Success of Minorities at MSIs Through Effective Public Policy
Ms. Lezli Baskerville, President and CEO, National Association for Equal Opportunity in Higher Education
Mr. Neil Horikorsi, President & Executive Director, Asian & Pacific Islander American Scholarship Fund
Mr. Jim Hermes, Associate Vice President of Government Relations, American Association of Community Colleges
Dr. John Moder, Senior Vice President/Chief Operating Office, Hispanic Association of Colleges and Universities
Ms. Carrie L. Billy, President & CEO, American Indian Higher Education Consortium
Moderator: Mr. Tom Rudin, Director, Board on Higher Education and Workforce, National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine

4:30 p.m. Q/A with audience

Follow the conversation on Twitter with #MSIstem

Project Page