Contact Us  |  Search:   
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine
Board on Higher Education and Workforce
Board on Higher Education and Workforce
Policy and Global Affairs
Home About Us Projects Publications Membership Staff Email Updates

Study on Research Universities Banner 

Research Universities and the Future of America:
A National Convocation on Breakthrough Actions

October 10th, 2013
The National Academies
National Academy of Sciences Building
2101 Constitution Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20418

8:00-8:30             Registration and Breakfast                                                                 Great Hall

8:30-9:00            Opening Session                                                                                Auditorium

Ralph J. Cicerone, President, National Academy of Sciences

C.D. (Dan) Mote, President, National Academy of Engineering

Harvey V. Fineberg, President, Institute of Medicine

Overview of the Research Universities Project
Chad Holliday, Chairman and CEO (retired) DuPont
Jim Duderstadt, President Emeritus and University Professor of Science and Engineering at the University of Michigan 

  9:00-11:00         Plenary Addresses                                                                              Auditorium

Representative Rush Holt (D-NJ)

Ernest Moniz, Secretary, U.S. Department of Energy

John Holdren, Director, White House Office of Science and Technology Policy

Norman Augustine, Chairman and CEO (retired), Lockheed Martin Corporation
Hunter Rawlings, President, Association of American Universities
Peter McPherson, President, Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities 
Teresa Sullivan, President, University of Virginia

Francisco Cigarroa, Chancellor, University of Texas System  

11:00-11:30         Coffee Break                                                                                       Great Hall

11:30-1:30           Working Group Discussions of Recommended Actions (Concurrent)
                           (boxed lunches available)

(1) Revitalizing the Partnership                                                                             Room 120
The first three actions—Federal Action, State Action, and Strengthening Partnerships with Business—will strengthen the partnership among universities, federal and state governments, philanthropy, and the business community in order to revitalize university research and speed its translation into innovative products and services.
Chair: Lee Todd, President Emeritus, University of Kentucky
Scribe: Catherine Didion, Senior Program Officer, National Academy of Engineering
Key Discussants:

Stephen Barkanic, Senior Vice President, Business-Higher Education Forum 

Richard Bendis, President and CEO, Maryland BioHealth Innovation

Bill Green, Chairman (retired), Accenture

Robert Hardy, Director Contracts and Intellectual Property, Council on Governmental Relations

Mary Walshok, Associate Vice Chancellor for Public Programs and Dean of Extension, University of California, San Diego

Nicolas Zeppos, Chancellor, Vanderbilt University

(2) Strengthening Institutions                                                                                Member’s Room
The next four actions—Improving University Productivity, Strategic Investment Programs, Full Federal Funding of Research, and Reducing Regulatory Burden— will streamline and improve the productivity of research operations within universities
Chair: Brit Kirwan, Chancellor, University System of Maryland
Scribe: Guru Madhavan, Senior Program Officer, National Academy of Sciences  

Key Discussants:

Francisco Cigarroa, Chancellor, University of Texas System

Tony DeCrappeo, President, Council on Governmental Relations

Landon King, Executive Vice Dean, School of Medicine, Johns Hopkins University

Ryan Oakes, Public Service and Education Managing Director, Accenture

George Pernsteiner, President, State Higher Education Executive Officers Association

Teresa Sullivan, President, University of Virginia

(3) Building Talent                                                                                                Room 125
The final three actions—Reforming Graduate Education, STEM Pathways and Diversity, and International Students and Scholars— will ensure that America’s pipeline of future talent in science, engineering, and other research areas remains creative and vital, leveraging the abilities of all of its citizens and attracting the best students and scholars from around the world.
Chair: Enriqueta Bond, President Emerita, Burroughs Wellcome Fund
Scribe: Kevin Finneran, Director, Committee on Science, Engineering, and Public Policy
Key Discussants:

Peter Agre, University Professor and Director, Johns Hopkins Malaria Research Institute, Bloomberg School of Public Health
Elizabeth Boylan, Director, STEM Education, Alfred P. Sloan Foundation

James Clements, President, West Virginia University

Ryan Kelsey, Program Officer, The Leona M. and Harry B. Helmsley Charitable Trust

Susan Singer, Director, NSF Division on Undergraduate Education

Debra Stewart, President, Council on Graduate Schools


1:30-1:45           Coffee Break and Reconvene

1:45-2:15           Working Groups Report

2:15-3:15           General Discussion

3:15-3:30           Closing Remarks

3:30                   Adjourn