Contact Us  |  Search:   
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine
Policy and Global Affairs
Home About BISO Subscribe to Our Newsletter
Quick Links

Contact BISO
Board on International Scientific Organizations
Policy and Global Affairs
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth Street
Washington, DC 20001 USA
Tel: +1 202-334-2807
Fax: +1 202-334-2231

International Visitors Office
For visa-related issues, visit International Visitors Office

Contact the IVO

Tel:+1 202-334-2807
Fax:+1 202-334-2231

BISO Events Calendar

Events of US National
Committees and
international unions
associated with BISO


BISO Home > USNC/IAU Homepage > USNC/IAU Membership

Current Membership

  • Chryssa Kouveliotou (NAS), Chair
    George Washington University
  • Martha Haynes (NAS), Vice Chair
    Cornell University
  • Alice K.B. Monet, Secretary
    U.S. Naval Observatory (retired)

Category I: Representing the American Astronomical Society

  • John S. (Jay) Gallagher, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Thomas Maccarone, Texas Tech University
  • Duilia de Mello, Catholic University of America

Category II: Representing the American Astronomical Board of Trustees

  • Kelle Cruz, Hunter College

Category III: Representing the NAS Astronomy Section

  • David Jewitt (NAS), University of California, Los Angeles
  • James Moran (NAS), Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
  • Megan Urry (NAS), Yale University

Category IV: Ex-Officio, Voting, Representing Various Offices

  • President, AAS
    Megan Donahue, Michigan State University
  • Executive Director, AAS
    Kevin B. Marvel, American Astronomical Society
  • Secretary, AAS
    Alice K.B. Monet, U.S. Naval Observatory (retired)
  • Chair, NAS Astronomy Section
    Roger Blandford (NAS)
    , Stanford University
  • President-Elect, IAU
    Debra Elmegreen, Vassar College
  • Membership Committee, IAU
    David Soderblom
    , Space Telescope Science Institute
  • Former President, IAU
    Robert E. Williams
    , STScI Homewood Campus
  • Chair, Board on Physics and Astronomy
    Abraham Loeb,
    Harvard University
  • Chair, Space Studies Board
    Margaret Kivelson (NAS), University of California, Los Angeles



This material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant Number 1708170. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.

To comment on this webpage or report an error, please send feedback to the
BISO Site Manager.