Contact Us  |  Search:   
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine
Policy and Global Affairs
Home About BISO Subscribe to Our Newsletter
Quick Links

Contact BISO
Board on International Scientific Organizations
Policy and Global Affairs
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth Street
Washington, DC 20001 USA
Tel: +1 202-334-2807
Fax: +1 202-334-2231

International Visitors Office
For visa-related issues, visit International Visitors Office

Contact the IVO

Tel:+1 202-334-2807
Fax:+1 202-334-2231

BISO Events Calendar

Events of US National
Committees and
international unions
associated with BISO


BISO Home > USLC/IUPAP Homepage > USLC/IUPAP Membership

Current Membership

  • Chair
    Peter Mohr
    National Institute of Standards and Technology
  • Chair Elect
    Laura Greene (NAS)
    Florida State University
  • Operations Officer
    Ana M. Ferreras
    NAS Program Officer
  • Secretary
    Amy K. Flatten
    American Physical Society
  • American Association of Physics Teachers
    David Sokoloff
    University of Oregon
  • American Institute of Physics
    Philip (Bo) Hammer
    Corporate Secretary, American Institute of Physics
  • American Physical Society
    Bruce Barrett (2017)
    University of Arizona
    American Physical Society
    Fulvia Pilat (2017)
    Jefferson Lab
  • American Physical Society
    Herman Winick
    Stanford Synchrotron Radiation Laboratory, SLAC
  • Acoustical Society of America
    William Hartmann
    Michigan State University


  • Ercan Alp
    Argonne National Laboratory
  • William Colglazier
    American Association for the Advancement of Science
  • Patricia McBride
    Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory


  • Chair, Board on Physics and Astronomy
    Michael S. Witherell
    University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Chair, U.S. Advisory Committee for the International Commission for Optics (USAC/ICO)
    John Greivenkamp
    University of Arizona
  • Secretary, International Society on General Relativity and Gravitation
    Beverly Berger

    Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
  • American Association of Physicists Medicine
    John Hazle
    University of Texas
  • IUPAP President-Elect
    Kennedy Reed
    Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory 
  • Executive Officer, American Physical Society 
    Kate Kirby
    American Physical Society
  • Executive Officer, American Association of Physics Teachers
    Beth Cunningham
    American Association of Physics Teachers
  • Executive Director and CEO, American Institute of Physics
    Fred Dylla
    American Institute of Physics
  • NAS Foreign Secretary
    John Hildebrand
    University of Arizona, Tucson



  • Symbols, Units, Nomenclature, Atomic Masses, and Fundamental Constants (C2)
    William Phillips
    National Institute of Standards and Technology
  • Statistical Physics (C3)
    Beate Schmittmann
    Iowa State University
  • Cosmic Rays (C4)
    Eun-Suk Seo
    University of Maryland
  • Low Temperature Physics (C5)
    William Halperin
    Northwestern University
  • Biological Physics (C6)
    Aihua Xie, Chair
    Oklahoma State University
  • Semiconductors (C8)
    Allan H. MacDonald, Chair
    University of Texas, Austin
  • Magnetism (C9)
    Kai Liu
    University of California, Davis
  • Structure & Dynamics of Condensed Matter (C10)
    Laura Greene
    Florida State University
  • Particles and Fields (C11)
    Heidi Schellman
    Northwestern University
  • Nuclear Physics (C12)
    Ani Aprahamian
    University of Notre Dame
  • Physics for Development (C13)
    Sekazi Mtingwa
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Physics Education (C14)
    Priscilla Laws
    Dickinson College
  • Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics (C15)
    Thomas F. Gallagher
    University of Virginia
  • Plasma Physics (C16)
    Warren Mori
    University of California, Los Angeles
  • Quantum Electronics (C17)
    Thaddeus Ladd
    HRL Laboratories, LLC
  • Mathematical Physics (C18)
    Bruno Nachtergaele
    University of California, Davis
  • Astrophysics (C19)
    Chryssa Kouveliotou
    The George Washington University
  • Computational Physics (C20)
    David Landau
    University of Georgia, Athens





This material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant Number PHY-1318107. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.

To comment on this webpage or report an error, please send feedback to the
BISO Site Manager.