Skip to Main Content
Committee on Scientific Communication and National Security (CSCANS) Committee on Scientific Communication and National Security
The National Academies
The National Academies
Home About Us History of CSCANS
Quick Links

CSCANS Members and Affiliations

John L. Hennessy – Co-Chair, President, Stanford University

Brent Scowcroft – Co-Chair, Lt. General, USAF (Retired), President and founder of The Scowcroft Group

William F. Ballhaus, Jr., President and CEO, The Aerospace Corporation

David Baltimore, President Emeritus and Robert A. Millikan Professor of Biology, California Institute of Technology

Craig R. Barrett, Chairman of the Board, Intel Corporation

Paul Berg, Cahill Professor of Biochemistry, Emeritus, Stanford University Medical Center

Alfred R. Berkeley III, Chairman, Pipeline Trading Systems, LLC.

Claude Canizares, Vice President for Research and Associate Provost, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Jared L. Cohon, President, Carnegie Mellon University

France A. Cordova, President, Purdue University

Ruth A. David, President and CEO, Analytic Services Inc.

Viet D. Dinh, Professor of Law, Georgetown University Law Center

Gerald R. Fink, Professor of Genetics, Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research, MIT

John B. Gage, Chief Researcher and Director of the Science Office, Sun Microsystems

John A. Gordon, General, USAF (Retired) and Private Consultant

M.R.C. Greenwood (Ex-officio Member), Professor of Nutrition and Internal Medicine, University of California – Davis ~ Chancellor Emeritus, University of California – Santa Cruz

Margaret A. Hamburg, Senior Scientist, Nuclear Threat Initiative

John J. Hamre, President and CEO, Center for Strategic and International Studies

B. R. Inman, Admiral, U.S. Navy (Retired), LBJ Centennial Chair in National Policy, University of Texas, Austin

Adel Mahmoud, Chief Medical Advisor, Vaccines and Infectious Diseases, Merck & Co., Inc.

Richard Meserve, President, Carnegie Institution of Washington

Judith A. Miller, Senior Vice President and General Counsel, Bechtel Group, Inc.

C. D. Mote, President, University of Maryland

Norman Neureiter, Director, Center for Science and Technology Security Policy, American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)

John S. Parker, Senior Vice President and Technical Fellow, Science Applications International Corporation (SAIC)

Suzanne D. Patrick, Former Deputy Under Secretary of Defense for Industrial Policy, (DOD) and Private Consultant

Elizabeth Rindskopf Parker, Dean, Pacific McGeorge School of Law

Phillip A. Sharp, Institute Professor and Director, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Deanne Siemer, Managing Director, Wilsie Co. LLC

Mitchel B. Wallerstein, Dean, Syracuse University

Former CSCANS Members and Affiliations

Robert M. Gates – Co-Chair (8/15/2005 -- 9/27/2006), President, Texas A & M University

Charles B. Curtis, (8/15/2005 -- 12/8/2006) President, Nuclear Threat Initiative

John P. Holdren, (8/15/2005 -- 10/2/2006) Heinz Professor & Director, Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University


Patricia S. Wrightson, Program Director – Policy and Global Affairs
Ryan J. Zelnio, Research Associate – Policy and Global Affairs
Brooks Barber, Program Assistant – Policy and Global Affairs