Contact Us  |  Search:   
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine
Policy and Global Affairs
Home About BISO Subscribe to Our Newsletter
Quick Links

Contact BISO
Board on International Scientific Organizations
Policy and Global Affairs
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth Street
Washington, DC 20001 USA
Tel: +1 202-334-2807
Fax: +1 202-334-2231

International Visitors Office
For visa-related issues, visit International Visitors Office

Contact the IVO

Tel:+1 202-334-2807
Fax:+1 202-334-2231

BISO Events Calendar

Events of US National
Committees and
international unions
associated with BISO


USNC/IAU Home > Beyond the Decade: The Future of International Astronomy Symposium 


IYA 2009Beyond the Decade:  The Future of International Astronomy
A Celebration of the International Year of Astronomy
Friday, October 9, 2009
Keck Center of The National Academies, Room 100
9:00-9:15        Welcome
John Huchra (chair of the NAS Astronomy Section, President of the American Astronomical Society, and past chair of the USNC/IAU)
9:15-10:15      Keynote Address:
Michael S. Turner (The University of Chicago, Bruce V. & Diana M. Rauner Distinguished Service Professor; former Assistant Director for Mathematical and Physical Sciences for the U.S. National Science Foundation)
Questions to be addressed: 
What are the contributions of international astronomy?
What objectives make sense for multi-national cooperation?
What are the implications for future large-scale international projects in astronomy?
10:15-10:30    Break
 10:30-12:30    Panel I: Contributions of International Astronomy
Task: Discuss major programs and activities in respective countries/regions.
Structure of panel: 15 minutes each followed by 30-minute Q&A
Moderator: John Huchra  
China: Dr. Jian-Sheng Chen, Chinese Academy of Sciences
Japan: Dr. Hajime Inoue, Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA)
India: Dr. Kasturirangan Krishnaswamy, National Inst. Of Advanced Studies, Bangalore
Europe: Dr. Bruno Leibundgut, European Southern Observatory (ESO)
Chile: Dr. Maria Teresa Ruiz, Universidad de Chile
Australia: Dr. Brian Boyle, Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organization-Square
                  Kilometre Array (CSIRO-SKA)
12:30-1:25      Lunch
 1:25-2:55        Panel II: Case Studies of Multi-National Cooperation
Task: Case studies of multi-national cooperation
Structure of panel: 15-20 minutes each followed by 30-minute Q&A
Moderator: Adam Burrows
The James Webb Space Telescopes (JWST): Dr. Matt Mountain, Space Telescope Science Institute
Atacama Large Millimeter Array (ALMA): Dr. Martha Haynes, Cornell University  
The GEMINI Telescopes: Dr. Eileen Friel, Lowell Observatory
Stratospheric Observatory for Infrared Astronomy (SOFIA): Dr. Donald Kniffen, Universities Space Research Association
2:55-3:10        Break
3:10-4:50        Panel III: Implications for the Future in…
Task: Discuss implications for future from perspective of each discipline
Structure of panel: 5 talks of 15 minutes each followed by 25-minute Q&A
Moderator: John Huchra  
Planetary Science: Dr. Eugene Levy, Rice University
Optical & Infrared Astronomy: Dr. John C. Mather, National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
Radio Astronomy: Dr. Fred Lo, National Radio Astronomy Observatory (NRAO)
Cosmology & Astrophysics: Dr. Saul Perlmutter, University of California, Berkeley
X-ray Astronomy: Dr. Harvey Tananbaum, Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory 
4:50-5:00        Closing Remarks
Adam Burrows, Vice-Chair of the Board on Physics and Astronomy

John Huchra, Adam Burrows and Charles Kennel

This event was co-sponsored by the Board on International Scientific Organizations,
the Board on Physics and Astronomy, and the Space Studies Board.


To comment on this Web page or report an error, please send feedback to BISO Site Manager.