Skip to Main Content
Board on International Scientific Organizations (BISO) Board on International Scientific Organizations
The National Academies
The National Academies
Home About BISO Subscribe to Our Newsletter
Quick Links

International Visitors Office
For visa-related issues, visit International Visitors Office


Contact the IVO

Tel:+1 202-334-2807
Fax:+1 202-334-2231
Email:visas@nas.edu

                                                   
BISO Events Calendar

Events of US National
Committees and
international unions
associated with BISO


                                                   
Contact BISO
Board on International Scientific Organizations
Policy and Global Affairs
The National Academies
500 Fifth Street
Washington, DC 20001 USA
Tel:  +1 202-334-2807
Fax: +1 202-334-2231 

 


 
 U.S. National Committee for INQUA

CURRENT MEMBERSHIP

Chair
 
Rolfe Mandel, Senior Scientist and Executive Director, Odyssey Research Program, Kansas Geological Survey, University of Kansas, 1930 Constant Ave., Lawrence, KS 66047-3724; Tel.: (785) 864 2171; Fax (785) 864 5224; Email: mandel@kgs.ku.edu
Vice Chair
 
Alison Smith, Professor, Department of Geology, Kent State University, Kent, OH 44242. Tel.: (330) 672 3709; Fax: (330) 672 7949; Email: alisonjs@kent.edu

COMMITTEE MEMBERS

 Paul Baker, Professor of Geochemistry, Division of Earth and Ocean Sciences, Duke University, 301 Old Chemistry Box 90227, Durham, NC 27708, Tel.: (919) 684 6450; Fax: (919) 684 5833; Email: pbaker@duke.edu

 
Art Bettis, Associate Professor, Director of Graduate Studies, Department of Geoscience, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA 52242. Tel.: (319) 335 1831; Email: Art-bettis@uiowa.edu

 
Anders Carlson, Assistant Professor, Department of Geoscience & Center for Climatic Research, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Madison, WI 53706; Tel.: (608) 262 1921; Fax: (608) 262 0693; Email: acarlson@geology.wisc.edu

 
Feng Sheng Hu, Professor and Head of Plant Biology, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 265 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Avenue, Urbana, IL 61801; Tel.: (217) 244 2982, Fax (217) 244 7246, Email: fshu@life.illinois.edu

 
David Meltzer (NAS), Henderson-Morrison Professor, Director, QUEST, Archaeological Research Program, Department of Anthropology, Southern Methodist University, Dallas, TX 75275-0336; Tel.: (214) 768 2826; Email: dmeltzer@smu.edu

 
Ellen Mosley-Thompson (NAS), Professor, Department of Geography, and Senior Research Scientist, Byrd Polar Research Center, The Ohio State University; 108 Scott Hall, 1090 Carmack Road, Columbus, OH 43210, Tel.: (614) 292-6662; Fax: (614) 292-4697, Email: thompson.4@osu.edu

 
Bruce D. Smith (NAS), Curator of North American Archaeology and Senior Scientist, Archaeobiology Program, Department of Anthropology, MRC 112, National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, DC 20560, Tel.: (202) 633 1882, Fax: (202) 357 2208, Email: smithb@si.edu

 
Mathias Vuille, Assistant Professor, Department of Atmospheric and Environmental Sciences, University at Albany, SUNY, 1400 Washington Ave., Albany, NY 12222, Phone:  (518) 442-4472, Fax:    (518) 442-5825, E-mail: mathias@atmos.albany.edu
 

 
Greg Wiles, Geology Department Chair, Ross K. Shoolroy Chair of Natural Resources, Professor of Geology, Department of Geology, The College of Wooster, Wooster, OH 44691, Tel: 330-263-2298; Fax: 330-263-2249; gwiles@wooster.edu

 
Connie Woodhouse, Associate Professor, Geography & Regional Development, University of Arizona, 412 Harvill Building, Box #2, Tucson, AZ 85721-0076, Tel: 520-626-0235, Fax: 520-621-2889, Email: conniew1@email.arizona.edu

EX-OFFICIO MEMBER

 
Art Bettis, President, AMQUA                                                             
 
 
 
 

STAFF

Ester Sztein
Assistant Director
Board on International Scientific Organizations (BISO)
The National Academies
500 Fifth Street, NW, Washington, DC 20001
Tel: (202) 334 3049; Fax: (202) 334-2231
E-mail: esztein@nas.edu

Pam Gamble
Program Associate
Board on International Scientific Organizations (BISO)
The National Academies
500 Fifth Street, NW, Washington, DC 20001
Tel: (202) 334-2688; Fax: (202) 334-2231
E-mail: pgamble@nas.edu

USNC/INQUA
Home

Background

Membership

Events and Activities
Awards
Resource Links
INQUA International Webpage


This material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant Number ICER-1312037. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.

To comment on this webpage or report an error, please send feedback to the BISO Site Manager.