Contact Us  |  Search:   
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine
Policy and Global Affairs
Home About BISO Subscribe to Our Newsletter
Quick Links

Contact BISO
Board on International Scientific Organizations
Policy and Global Affairs
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth Street
Washington, DC 20001 USA
Tel: +1 202-334-2807
Fax: +1 202-334-2231

International Visitors Office
For visa-related issues, visit International Visitors Office

Contact the IVO

Tel:+1 202-334-2807
Fax:+1 202-334-2231

BISO Events Calendar

Events of US National
Committees and
international unions
associated with BISO


BISO Home > USNC/IUPAC Homepage > Activities and Events > IUPAC Poster Prizes

The IUPAC Poster Prize Program was established in 2004 to recognize outstanding undergraduate poster presentations at IUPAC Congresses and division-sponsored conferences.  Awardee winners receive a certificate signed by the IUPAC President, a copy of the Compendium of Chemical Terminology, and a two-year subscription to Chemistry International.

IUPAC Poster Prizes are presented to recipients by members of the USNC/IUPAC during the spring or fall American Chemical Society Meetings.   Information regarding the 2009 IUPAC Prize competition will be announced in June 2009.

2007 Poster Prize Winners

The USNC/IUPAC selected three winners from the seven finalists in the 2007 IUPAC Poster Prize Program awarded during the spring American Chemical Society Meeting in Chicago, IL:

  • Shauna M. Paradine
    Albion College, MI
  • Anne R. Szklarski
    The College of New Jersey, NJ
  • Marisa L. Winkler
    Bryn Mawr College, PA

2007 IUPAC Poster Prize Finalists:

  • Kelly C. Peng, Linfield College
    Thermosensitivity of liposomes of varying DPPC and DSPC lipid compositions
  • Anne R. Szklarski, The College of New Jersey
    Enzymatic synthesis of dipeptides
  • Carol A. Johnson, Purdue University
    Competition between dechlorination and hydrogenation reactions in aquatic chemistry:
     Effects of pH changes and palladium catalyst sources
  • Michelle C. Silva, College of Saint Elizabeth
    Synthesis and characterization of aluminum phosphate nanobuilding-block clusters
  • Shauna M. Paradine, Albion College
    Catalytic enantioselective alpha-oxytosylation of propiophenone using chiral hypervalent
      iodine reagents
  • Pedro M. Valencia, University of Wisconsin-Madison
    Synthesis and characterization of a mixed-valence system composed of a binuclear ruthenium complex with bipyridine and heptadione-type ligands
  • Marisa L. Winkler, Bryn Mawr College
    An exploration of novel methods for the synthesis of photochromic molecules

Photo: Andrew French
USNC/IUPAC members congratulate Marisa Winkler
Photo: Andrew French
Shauna Paradine accepts IUPAC Poster Prize








To comment on this Web page or report an error, please send feedback to BISO Site Manager