Contact Us  |  Search:   
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine
Policy and Global Affairs
Home About BISO Subscribe to Our Newsletter
Quick Links

Contact BISO
Board on International Scientific Organizations
Policy and Global Affairs
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth Street
Washington, DC 20001 USA
Tel: +1 202-334-2807
Fax: +1 202-334-2231

International Visitors Office
For visa-related issues, visit International Visitors Office

Contact the IVO

Tel:+1 202-334-2807
Fax:+1 202-334-2231

BISO Events Calendar

Events of US National
Committees and
international unions
associated with BISO


BISO Home > USLC/IUPAP Homepage > USLC/IUPAP Activities and Events


2016 ASESMA in Ghana, June 12--25
The University of Ghana, Legon, in Accra, Ghana proudly hosted this summer's African School on Electronic Structure Methods and Applications (ASESMA). About ten lecturers and five to seven tutors assisted approximately forty students, about half of which were from Ghana and twenty other African regions.

USLC/IUPAP Gathering at APS Meeting in Baltimore
USLC/IUPAP members were invited to attend the Forum on International Physics (FIP) reception at the American Physical Society (APS) meeting on Tuesday, March 15, 2016, at the Hilton Baltimore. The reception was be held from 6:00 to 8:00 p.m. in the Latrobe Room, and was co-sponsored by the APS Office of International Affairs, the Overseas Chinese Physics Association (OCPA), the Association of Korean Physicists in America (AKPA), and the Iranian-American Physicists Group Network (IrAP).

The FIP is a wonderful annual opportunity to interact with speakers, officers of the American Physical Society, members of the co-sponsoring organizations, and fellow FIP members. The most recent APS Meeting was held from March 13 through March 17, 2017, in New Orleans, Louisiana.

Fifth International Congress on Women in Physics Proceedings Now Available

Proceedings are now available online for download.  All of the articles are available "open access" indefinitely, meaning that they do not require login information to access and can be freely shared. Simply click on individual articles to view them. You will then be directed to a new page for the paper where you must select "Download PDF" to read the entire article.  

CAM 2015
The 2015 Canadian-American-Mexican Physics Graduate Student Conference (CAM2015) was held in Oaxaca, Oaxaca, Mexico on September 10-12, 2015.  The conference focused on the research done by graduate students. Plenary contributions from established scientists also gave student participants exposure to ongoing research in diverse sub-fields. Students shared the results of their research with senior scientists and international peers in their own field, as well as with those focused on other disciplines within physics.
The aim of CAM is to provide an outstanding opportunity for students to develop professional skills, learn a broad range of physics topics, and initiate interactions across geographical borders. Furthermore, the conference fosters communication and exchange of ideas among students of various backgrounds and interests. CAM2017 will be held in the United States, and CAM 2019 will be held in Canada.

ASESMA: January 19–30, 2015 in Johannesburg, South Africa
The USLC/IUPAP would like to highlight the African School on Electronic Structure Methods and Applications (ASESMA), which took place at the University of Witswatersrand in Johannesburg, South Africa from January 19-30, 2015. It is the third school in an IUPAP-endorsed series that is planned biennially from 2010 to 2020.

The schools emphasize the theory and computational methods for predicting and understanding properties of materials through calculations at the fundamental level of electronic structure, with a focus on the issues in materials science most relevant to Africa. The USLC/IUPAP’s support for ASESMA is provided by private funds. For more information, please consult the International Centre for Theoretical Physics.

#MySTEMStory and HERStories: Initiatives to Support Women in Physics

Over 215 participants from 49 countries attended the 5th International Conference on Women in Physics at Wilfrid Laurier University in Waterloo, Canada, from August 5-8, 2014. As a result of the conference, several initiatives were developed to broaden support for women in STEM fields. #MySTEMStory, a trending topic on Twitter, allows women to share both positive and negative elements of their experiences. HERStories, a video compiled by the American Association of Physics Teachers, the American Physical Society and the Society of Physics Students, features physics professionals discussing their love of the field. November 7 was also approved as the new International Women in Physics Day.

USLC/IUPAP Member Kennedy Reed Becomes IUPAP President
The USLC/IUPAP would like to congratulate its ex-officio member, Kennedy Reed, on his appointment as president of IUPAP. He will serve a three-year term as the president of IUPAP and a three-year term as past-president. President-Elect Reed has served on the IUPAP Commission on Physics for Development for nine years and chaired the commission for three years. More information on his election can be found on the website of the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory.

At the 2014 General Assembly, two resolutions that were presented by the USLC/IUPAP were passed. These resolutions were to form a new IUPAP Commission on Accelerator Science, and to create an IUPAP Working Group on the Newtonian Constant of Gravitation G. In addition, the following U.S. nominees were appointed to IUPAP commissions:
  • C2: William Phillips (University of Maryland and NIST) as Vice-Chair
  • C3: Beate Schmittmann (Viriginia Tech) as Member
  • C4: Eun-Suk Seo (University of Maryland) as Member
  • C5: William Halperin (Northwestern University) as Secretary 
  • C6: Aihua Xie (Oklahoma State University) as Secretary
  • C8: Alan MacDonald (University of Texas at Austin) as Member
  • C9: Kai Liu (University of California, Davis) as Member
  • C10: Laura Greene (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) as Vice-Chair
  • C11: Heidi Schellman (Northwestern University) as Vice-Chair
  • C12: Ani Aprahamian (University of Notre Dame) as Member
  • C13: Sekazi Mtingwa (MIT) as Member
  • C14: Priscilla Laws (Dickinson College) as Member
  • C15: Thomas F. Gallagher (University of Viriginia) as Member
  • C16: Warren Mori (University of California, Los Angeles) as Member
  • C17: Thaddeus Ladd (HRL Laboratories) as Member
  • C18: Bruno Nachtergaele (University of California at Davis) as Member
  • C19: Chryssa Kouveliotou (NASA, Huntsville) as Member
  • C20: David P. Landau (University of Georgia, Athena) as Vice-Chair


This material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant Number PHY-1318107. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.

To comment on this webpage or report an error, please send feedback to the
BISO Site Manager.