Contact Us  |  Search:   
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine
Policy and Global Affairs
Home About BISO Subscribe to Our Newsletter
Quick Links

Contact BISO
Board on International Scientific Organizations
Policy and Global Affairs
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth Street
Washington, DC 20001 USA
Tel: +1 202-334-2807
Fax: +1 202-334-2231

International Visitors Office
For visa-related issues, visit International Visitors Office

Contact the IVO

Tel:+1 202-334-2807
Fax:+1 202-334-2231

BISO Events Calendar

Events of US National
Committees and
international unions
associated with BISO


BISO Home > USNC/TAM Homepage > USNC/TAM Membership


Terms end October 31 of the year indicated. Officers may simultaneously serve in another role. NAE/NAS indicates membership in the National Academy of Engineering or National Academy of Sciences.


Krishnaswamy Ravi-Chandar, Chair
University of Texas at Austin

Beverley McKeon Photo
Beverley McKeon, Vice Chair
California Institute of Technology

Linda Franzoni New Picture

Linda P. Franzoni, Secretary,
Duke University


NEW Gareth McKinley 2017
Gareth H. McKinley, Past Chair
Massachusetts Institute of Technology


Anne Grillet
Sandia National Laboratories

Tarek Zohdi
University of California, Berkeley

Thomas J. Pence
Michigan State University

Society Representatives

Robert Koch Photo 2018
Acoustical Society of America (ASA)
Robert Koch
Undersea Tactical Stealth
Naval Undersea Warfare Center

NEW Ellen Arruda 2017
American Academy of Mechanics (AAM)

Ellen Arruda
University of Michigan

Qiang Du Photo
Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics(SIAM)
Qiang Du
Columbia University

United States Association for Computational Mechanics (USACM)
Tarek Zohdi
University of California, Berkeley

ASTM International (formerly American Society for Testing and Materials)
Richard Neu
Georgia Institute of Technology

Kyung-Suk Kim
Society of Engineering Science (SES)
Kyung-Suk Kim
Brown University

Jose Andrade Photo 2018
American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)
Jose E. Aldrade
California Institute of Technology

Wendy Crone
Society for Experimental Mechanics (SEM)
Wendy Crone
University of Wisconsin, Madison

Beverley McKeon Photo
American Physical Society (APS)

Beverley McKeon
California Institute of Technology

Paul Steen Photo
American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE)
Paul Steen
Cornell University

Huang Yonggang Photo 2018
American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
Yonggang Huang (NAE)
Northwestern University

Society of Rheology (SR)
Shelley Anna
Carnegie Mellon University
Ex-Officio Members (Non-Voting)

|Jan D. Achenbach (NAE, NAS)
Northwestern University 
Member-at-Large (2020)

L. Ben Freund (NAE, NAS)
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
General Assembly Member-at-Large (2020)

 Ben Wang 
Georgia Tech Manufacturing Institute
NMMB Liaison (2019)


Ex-Officio and IUTAM Members (Voting)

 Jianmin Qu Photo
Jianmin Qu, National Congress Chair
Tufts University

 Nadine New Pic 2017
Nadine Aubry (NAE)
Northeastern University
Union President & Chair of the Congress Committee


Horacio D. Espinosa
Northwestern University
Congress Committee Member

Huajian Gao
Brown University
Congress Committee Member and Solid Mechanics Symposia Panel Chair

Ann Karagozian
University of California, Los Angeles
Congress Committee Member


Eric S.G. Shaqfeh
Stanford University
Congress Committee Member 

Robert McMeeking (NAE)
University of California, Santa Barbara
Secretary of the Congress Committee






National Academies Staff

Ana Ferreras
Senior Program Officer 
Keck 504A 
Pam Gamble
Administrative Assistant
Keck W 526


This material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant Number CMMI-1338717. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.

To comment on this webpage or report an error, please send feedback to the
BISO Site Manager.