Contact Us  |  Search:   
 
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine
BOARD ON INTERNATIONAL SCIENTIFIC ORGANIZATIONS
BOARD ON INTERNATIONAL SCIENTIFIC ORGANIZATIONS
Policy and Global Affairs
Home About BISO Subscribe to Our Newsletter
Quick Links

Contact BISO
Board on International Scientific Organizations
Policy and Global Affairs
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth Street
Washington, DC 20001 USA
Email: biso@nas.edu
Tel: +1 202-334-2807
Fax: +1 202-334-2231


International Visitors Office
For visa-related issues, visit International Visitors Office

Contact the IVO

Tel:+1 202-334-2807
Fax:+1 202-334-2231
Email:visas@nas.edu

                                                   
BISO Events Calendar

Events of US National
Committees and
international unions
associated with BISO

 


U.S. National Committee for URSi

 

United States National Committee for the
International Union of Radio Science Membership
 

OFFICERS (2018–2020)
 
Chair
Rengarajan BW New PicSembiam Rengarajan
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
California State University
Northridge, California 91330-8346
Tel: 818-677-3571
Fax: 818-667-7062
E-mail: srengarajan@csun.edu
Secretary and Chair-Elect 
 Michael H. Newkirk
Applied Physics Laboratory
The Johns Hopkins University
Tel: 240-228-6976
Fax: 240-228-5494
E-mail: Michael.Newkirk@jhuapl.edu
Immediate Past Chair
David Jackson
Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering
University of Houston
Houston, TX 77204-4005
Tel: 713-743-4426
Fax: 713-743-4444
E-mail: djackson@uh.edu
Accounts Manager
Gary S. Brown
Bradley Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Blacksburg, VA 24060-0111
Tel: 540-231-4467
Fax 540-231-3362
E-mail: randem@vt.edu

EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS – VOTING

 
COMMISSION CHAIRS (2018–2020)

Commission A: Electromagnetic Metrology
Jeanne Quimby
National Institute of Standards and Technology
Boulder, CO 80305
Tel: 303-497-4217
Fax: 303-497-3122
E-mail: jeanne.quimby@nist.gov
Commission B: Fields and Waves
 Jamesina Simpson
University of Utah
50 S. Central Campus Dr., Rm 2210
Salt Lake City, UT 84112
Tel: 801-585-6929
Fax: 801-581-5281
E-mail: jamesina.simpson@utah.edu
Commission C: Radio-Communication Systems and Signal Processing
 Eric L. Mokole
Signal Processing/T823
The MITRE Corporation/Programs & Technology
Mail Stop: J710
7515 Coleshire Drive
McLean, VA 22102-7508
Tel: 703-983-3349 OR 571-224-4773
Fax: 703-983-6501
E-mail: eric.mokole@outlook.com
Commission D: Electronics and Photonics
 Negar Ehsan
NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
8800 Greenbelt Rd.
Code 555, Bldg. 19, Rm. N1
Greenbelt, MD, 20771
Tel: 301-286-8406
E-mail: negar.ehsan@nasa.gov
Commission E: Electromagnetic Environment and Interference
 Larry Cohen
Naval Research Laboratory
4555 Overlook Ave. S.W.
Washington, D.C. 20375
Tel: 202-404-7726
E-mail: Lawrence.cohen@nrl.navy.mil
Commission F: Wave Propagation and Remote Sensing
 Kamal Sarabandi
University of Michigan
3228 EECS Bldg. 1301 Beal
Ann Arbor, MI 48103
Tel: 734-936-1575
E-mail: saraband@umich.edu
Commission G: Ionospheric Radio and Propagation
 Attila Komjathy
Jet Propulsion Laboratory
4800 Oak Grove Drive
Pasadena, CA 91109
Tel: 818-393-6828
E-mail: Attila.komjathy@jpl.nasa.gov
Commission H: Waves in Plasmas
 Robert Moore
University of Florida
NEB 557 PO Box 116130
Gainesville, FL 32606
Tel: 352-514-5705
E-mail: moore@ce.ufl.edu
Commission J: Radio Astronomy
 Jeff Mangum
National Radio Astronomy Observatory
520 Edgemont Road
Charlottesville, VA 22903
Tel: 510-520-9077
Fax: 510-642-3411
E-mail: jmangum@nrao.edu
Commission K: Electromagnetics in Biology and Medicine
 Majid Manteghi
302 Whittemore (0001)
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Tel: 540-231-6834
Fax: 540-231-3362
E-mail: manteghi@vt.edu

MEMBERS AT LARGE (2018–2020)
 Reyhan Baktur
Utah State University
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Logan, UT 84322-4120
Tel: 435-797-2955
Fax: 435-797-3054
E-mail: reyhan.baktur@usu.edu
 Albin Gasiewski
University of Colorado at Boulder
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
0425 UCB/ECOT 246
Boulder, CO 80309-0425
Tel: 303-492-9688
Fax: 303-492-2758
E-mail: al.gasiewski@colorado.edu
 Wayne Scales
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University 
Bradley Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
203 Whittemore (0001)
Tel: 540-231-5622
Fax: 540-231-3362
E-mail: wscales@vt.edu
 Susan Hagness
3423 Engineering Hall
1415 Engineering Drive
University of Wisconsin, Madison
Madison, WI 53706
Tel: 608-265-5739
Fax: 608-262-1267
E-mail: hagness@engr.wisc.edu
 Mahta Moghaddam
University of Southern California
Dept. of Electrical Engineering
3737 Watt Way
Los Angeles, CA 90089-0271
Tel: 213-740-4712
Fax: 213-740-8677
E-mail: mahta@usc.edu
 Zoya Popovic
University of Colorado, Boulder
Dept. of Electrical, Computer, and Energy Engineering
425 UCB
Boulder, CO 80309-0425
Tel: 303-492-0374
Fax: 303-492-2758
E-mail: Zoya.Popovic@colorado.edu

URSI OFFICERS AND REPRESENTATIVES FROM U.S. (2018–2020)

URSI Vice-President and Assistant Secretary General
Piergiorgio L.E. Uslenghi
University of Illinois, Chicago
Department of ECE, College of Engineering
851 South Morgan Street
Chicago, IL 60607-7053
E-mail: uslenghi@uic.edu
Vice-Chair, URSI Commission B:
John L. Volakis
Florida State University
Dean, College of Engineering
10555 W. Flagler Street
Miami, FL 33174
Tel: 305-348-1197
Fax: 305-348-1401
E-mail: jvolakis@fiu.edu
Chair, URSI Commission C:
Amir Zaghloul
U.S. Army Research Laboratory
Tel: 301-394-0886
Fax: 301-394-5132
E-mail: amirz@vt.edu or amir.zaghloul.civ@mail.mil
Chair, URSI Commission F:
V. Chandrasekar
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Colorado State University
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1373
Tel: 970-491-7981
Fax: 970-491-2249
E-mail: chandra@engr.colostate.edu
Chair, URSI Commission G:
Patricia Doherty
Institute for Scientific Research
Boston College
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467
Tel: 617-552-8767
Fax: 617-552-2818
E-mail: patricia.doherty@bc.edu
Chair, URSI Commission J:
Richard Bradley
National Radio Astronomy Observatory
NRAO Technology Center
1180 Boxwood Estate Road
Charlottesville, VA 22903-4608
Tel: 434-296-0291
Fax: 434-296-0324
E-mail: rbradley@nrao.edu
URSI Assistant Secretary-General -- GASS and Publications:
W. Ross Stone
Editor-in-Chief, IEEE Antennas and Propagation Magazine & Radio Science Bulletin
Stoneware Limited
San Diego, CA 92106
Tel: 619-222-1915
Fax: 619-222-1606
E-mail: r.stone@ieee.org

SOCIETY REPRESENTATIVES (2018–2020)
 
American Astronomical Society (AAS): David DeBoer, University of California, Berkeley
American Geophysical Union (AGU): Fabiano S. Rodrigues, University of Texas at Dallas
American Meteorological Society (AMS): William J. Blackwell, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society (AP-S): Danilo Erricolo, University of Illinois, Chicago
IEEE Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society (GRSS): V. Chandrasekar, Colorado State University
IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques (MTT-S): Steven C. Reising, Colorado State University
National Academy of Sciences (NAS): Jack Welch, University of California, Berkeley

EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS – NON VOTING

GOVERNMENT LIAISON REPRESENTATIVES
  • Richard E. Barvainis
    Directorate for Mathematical and Physical Sciences
    National Science Foundation
    MPS-AST
    4201 Wilson Blvd.
    Arlington, VA 22230
    Tel: 703-292-4891
    Fax: 703-292-9034
    E-mail: rbarvai@nsf.gov
  • Chris Holloway
    Electromagnetics Division
    National Institute of Standards and Technology
    Boulder, CO 80305-3337
    Tel: 303-497-6184
    Fax: 303-497-6665
    E-mail: christopher.holloway@nist.gov
  • Sadasiva M. Rao
    Code #5314 Radar Division
    Naval Research Laboratory
    Washington, DC 20375
    Tel: 202-404-1985
    Fax: 202-767-6276
    E-mail: sadasiva.rao@nrl.navy.mil
STUDENT TRAVEL PROGRAM & PAPER COMPETITION
  • Erdem Topsakal
    Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering Virginia Commonwealth University
    601 West Main Street
    P.O. Box 843072
    Richmond, VA 23284-3072
    Tel: 804-828-1313
    Fax: 804-827-0006
    E-mail: etopsakal@vcu.edu
IEEE AP-S/USNC-URSI JOINT MEETINGS COMMITTEE
  • W. Ross Stone
    Editor-in-Chief
    IEEE Antennas and Propagation Magazine & Radio Science Bulletin
    Stoneware Limited
    San Diego, CA 92106
    Tel: 619-222-1915
    Fax: 619-222-1606
    E-mail: r.stone@ieee.org
  • Gary S. Brown
    Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
    Bradley Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering
    Blacksburg, VA 24060-0111
    Tel: 540-231-4467
    Fax: 540-231-3362
    E-mail: randem@vt.edu
  • Susan Hagness
    3423 Engineering Hall
    1415 Engineering Drive
    University of Wisconsin, Madison
    Madison, WI 53706
    Tel: 608-265-5739
    Fax: 608-262-1267
    E-mail: hagness@engr.wisc.edu
  • Yahya Rahmat-Samii
    University of California, Los Angeles
    6731K Boelter Hall, Electrical Engineering Department
    Los Angeles, CA 91403
    Tel: 310-206-2275
    E-mail: rahmat@ee.ucla.edu
URSI Honorary Members (Indefinite)
  • Chalmers Butler
    Past URSI Vice President
    Milton W. Holcombe Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
    Clemson University
    336 Fluor Daniel Engineering Innovation Building
    Clemson, SC 29634-0915
    Tel: 864-656-5922
    Fax: 864-656-7220
    E-mail: chalmers.butler@ ces.clemson.edu
  • Thomas B. Senior
    Past URSI President
    University of Michigan
    Electrical Engineering & Computer Sciences Department
    Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2122
    Tel: (734) 764-0500
    Fax (734) 747-2106
    E-mail: senior@eecs.umich.edu

    FOREIGN SECRETARY OF THE NATIONAL ACADEMY OF SCIENCES
  • John G. Hildrebrand (NAS); Department of Neuroscience; University of Arizona; Tucson, AZ 85721-0077; Tel: 520-621-6626; Fax: 520-621-8282; E-mail: jhildebr@email.arizona.edu 
NRSM CONFERENCE COORDINATOR
  • Christina Patarino; CU Conference Services; University of Colorado at Boulder; Tel: 303-492-5153; Fax: 303-492-5959; E-mail: christina.patarino@colorado.edu
NATIONAL ACADEMIES STAFF  
  • Ana Ferreras, Senior Program Officer, Board on International Scientific Organizations; The National Academies; 500 Fifth Street, N.W.; Washington, DC 20001; Phone: 202-334-1697; Fax: 202-334-2231; E-mail: aferreras@nas.edu 
  • Pam Gamble, Administrative Associate, Board on International Scientific Organizations; The National Academies; 500 Fifth Street, N.W.; Washington, DC 20001; Phone: 202-334-2688; Fax: 202-334-2231; E-mail: pgamble@nas.edu


IMPORTANT WEB ADDRESSES 

 
USNC-URSI Home Page: http://www.usnc-ursi.org
USNC-URSI January Meeting: http://www.nrsmboulder.org

USNC-URSI










 

 

This material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant Number AST-1265767. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.

To comment on this webpage or report an error, please send feedback to the BISO Site Manager.