NATIONAL-ACADEMIES.ORG   Contact Us  |  Search:   
 
National Academy of Sciences
National Academy of Engineering
Institute of Medicine
National Research Council
BOARD ON INTERNATIONAL SCIENTIFIC ORGANIZATIONS
BOARD ON INTERNATIONAL SCIENTIFIC ORGANIZATIONS
Policy and Global Affairs
Home About BISO Subscribe to Our Newsletter
Quick Links

Contact BISO
Board on International Scientific Organizations
Policy and Global Affairs
The National Academies
500 Fifth Street
Washington, DC 20001 USA
Email: biso@nas.edu
Tel: +1 202-334-2807
Fax: +1 202-334-2231


International Visitors Office
For visa-related issues, visit International Visitors Office

Contact the IVO

Tel: +1 202-334-2807
Fax: +1 202-334-2231
Email: visas@nas.edu

                                                   
BISO Events Calendar

Events of US National
Committees and
international unions
associated with BISO

 


U.S. National Committee for URSi

 

United States National Committee for the
International Union of Radio Science Membership
 

OFFICERS (2015–2017)
 
Chair
David Jackson; Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering; University of Houston; Houston, TX 77204-4005; Tel: 713-743-4426; Fax: 713-743-4444; E-mail: djackson@uh.edu
Secretary
Sembiam Rengarajan; Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering; California State University; Northridge, California 91330-8346; Tel: 818-677-3571; Fax: 818-667-7062; E-mail: srengarajan@csun.edu
Immediate Past Chair
Steven C. Reising; Electrical and Computer Engineering Department; Colorado State University; Fort Collins, CO 80523-1373; Tel: 970-491-2228; Fax: 970-491-2249; E-mail: Steven.Reising@ColoState.edu
Accounts Manager
Gary S. Brown; Bradley Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering; Virginia Tech; Blacksburg, VA 24060-0111; Tel: 540-231-4467; Fax 540-231-3362; E-mail: randem@vt.edu

EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS – VOTING

 
COMMISSION CHAIRS (2015–2017)

Commission A: Electromagnetic Metrology
Steven J. Weiss; Army Research Laboratory, Adelphi, MD 20783-1198; Tel: 301-394-1987; Fax ; E-mail: steven.j.weiss14.civ@mail.mil
Commission B: Fields and Waves
 John L. Volakis; Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering; The Ohio State University, Columbus, OH 43212; Tel: 614-292-5846; Fax: 614-292-7297; E-mail: volakis@ece.osu.edu
Commission C: Radio-Communication Systems and Signal Processing
 Gregory H. Huff; Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering; Texas A&M University, College Station, TX 77843-3128; Tel: 979-862-4161; Fax: 979-845-6259; E-mail: ghuff@tamu.edu
Commission D: Electronics and Photonics
 Zoya Popovic; Department of Electrical, Computer, and Energy Engineering; University of Colorado, Boulder; Boulder, CO 80309-0425; Tel: 303-492-0374; Fax: 303-492-2758; E-mail: Zoya.Popovic@colorado.edu
Commission E: Electromagnetic Environment and Interference
 Lawrence Cohen; Radar Division; Naval Research Laboratory; Washington, DC 20375; Tel: 202-404-7726; E-mail: Lawrence.Cohen@nrl.navy.mil
Commission F: Wave Propagation and Remote Sensing
 Michael H. Newkirk; Applied Physics Laboratory; The Johns Hopkins University; Tel: 240-228-6976; Fax: 240-228-5494; E-mail: Michael.Newkirk@jhuapl.edu
Commission G: Ionospheric Radio and Propagation
 Sigrid Close; Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics; Stanford University; Stanford, CA 94306; Tel: 650-725-2863; Fax: 650-723-3738; E-mail: sigridc@stanford.edu
Commission H: Waves in Plasmas
 Anatoly Strelsov; Department of Physical Sciences; Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University; Daytona Beach, FL 32114; Tel: 386-226-7137; Fax: 386-226-6621; E-mail: streltsa@erau.edu
Commission J: Radio Astronomy;
 David DeBoer; Radio Astronomy Laboratory; University of California Berkeley; Berkeley, CA 94720-3411; Tel: 510-520-9077; E-mail: ddeboer@berkeley.edu
Commission K: Electromagnetics in Biology and Medicine
 Mahta Moghaddam; Department of Electrical Engineering -- Electrophysics; University of Southern California; Los Angeles, CA 90089-0271; Tel: 312-740-4712; E-mail: mahta@usc.edu

MEMBERS AT LARGE (2015–2017)

Danilo Erricolo; University of Illinois at Chicago University of Illinois at Chicago; Dept. of Electrical Engineering & Computer Science MC154; 851 South Morgan Street; Chicago, IL 60607-7053; Tel: 312-996-5771; Fax: 312-996-6465; E-mail: erricolo@ece.uic.edu
Reyhan Baktur; Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering; Utah State University; Logan, UT 84322-4120; Tel: 435-797-2955; Fax: 435-797-3054; E-mail: reyhan.baktur@usu.edu
W. Devereux (Dev) Palmer; DARPA Microsystems Technology Office; Tel: 703-526-4070; Fax: 703-248-4870; E-mail: dev.palmer@darpa.mil
Albin Gasiewski; Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering; University of Colorado, Boulder; Boulder, CO 80309-0425; Tel: 303-492-9688; E-mail: al.gasiewski@colorado.edu
 Wayne Scales; Bradley Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering; Virginia Tech; Tel: 540-231-5622; Fax: 540-231-3362; E-mail: wscales@vt.edu
Jamesina Simpson; University of Utah, Salt Lake City; Salt Lake City, UT 84112; Tel: 801-585-2278; E-mail: jamesina.simpson@utah.edu

URSI OFFICERS AND REPRESENTATIVES FROM U.S. (2015–2017)

URSI Vice-President:
 Umran S. Inan; Department of Electrical Engineering; Stanford University; Stanford, CA 94305-9515; Tel: 650-723-4994; Fax: 650-723-9251; E-mail inan@stanford.edu
Vice-Chair, URSI Commission C:
Amir I. Zaghloul; Virginia Tech; Tel: 703-538-8435; E-mail: amirz@vt.edu
Vice-Chair, URSI Commission E:
David Giri; Pro-Tech; 11 C Orchard Court; Alamo, CA 94507-1541; Tel: 925-552-0510; FAX: 925-552-0532; E-mail:Giri@DVGiri.com 
Chair, URSI Commission F:
V. Chandrasekar; Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering; Colorado State University; Fort Collins, CO 80523-1373; Tel: 970-491-7981; Fax: 970-491-2249; E-mail: chandra@engr.colostate.edu
Vice-Chair, URSI Commission G:
Patricia Doherty; Institute for Scientific Research; Boston College; Chestnut Hill, MA 02467; Tel: 617-552-8767; Fax: 617-552-2818; E-mail: patricia.doherty@bc.edu
Vice-Chair, URSI Commission J:
Richard Bradley; National Radio Astronomy Observatory; Charlottesville, VA 22903-4608; Tel: 434-296-0291; Fax: 434-296-0324; E-mail: rbradley@nrao.edu
URSI Assistant Secretary-General (Publications) & Chair, Standing Publications Committee:
W. Ross Stone; Editor-in-Chief, IEEE Antennas and Propagation Magazine & Radio Science Bulletin; Stoneware Limited; San Diego, CA 92106 USA; Tel: 619-222-1915; Fax: 619-222-1606; E-mail: r.stone@ieee.org

SOCIETY REPRESENTATIVES (2015–2017)
 
American Astronomical Society (AAS): T. Joseph W. Lazio, JPL/Caltech
American Geophysical Union (AGU): David Hysell, Cornell University
American Meteorological Society (AMS): Robert E. Marshall, Mount Pleasant Meteorology 
IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society (AP-S): Randy L. Haupt, Bell Aerospace & Technologies Corp.
IEEE Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society (GRSS): David B. Kunkee, The Aerospace Corporation
IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques (MTT-S): Andreas Cangellaris, University of Illinois (UIUC)
National Academy of Sciences (NAS): Ken Kellermann, National Radio Astronomy Observatory

EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS – NON VOTING

GOVERNMENT LIAISON REPRESENTATIVES
  • Chris Holloway; Electromagnetics Division, National Institute of Standards and Technology; Boulder, CO 80305-3337; Tel: 303-497-6184; E-mail: christopher.holloway@nist.gov
  • Sadasiva M. Rao; Radar Division, Naval Research Laboratory; Washington, DC 20375; Tel: 202-404-1985; Fax: 202-767-6276; E-mail: sadasiva.rao@nrl.navy.mil
STUDENT TRAVEL PROGRAM & PAPER COMPETITION
  • Erdem Topsakal; Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering; Mississippi State University; Mississippi State, MS 39762-9571; Tel: 662-325-3669; Fax: 662-325-2298; E-mail: topsakal@ece.msstate.edu
IEEE AP-S/USNC-URSI JOINT MEETINGS COMMITTEE
  • W. Ross Stone; Editor-in-Chief, IEEE Antennas and Propagation Magazine & Radio Science Bulletin; Stoneware Limited; San Diego, CA 92106 USA; Tel: 619-222-1915; Fax: 619-222-1606; E-mail: r.stone@ieee.org
  • Danilo Erricolo; Dept. of Electrical Engineering & Computer Science MC154; University of Illinois at Chicago; Chicago, IL 60607-7053; Tel: 312-996-5771; Fax: 312-996-6465; E-mail: erricolo@ece.uic.edu
  • Gianluca Lazzi; Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering; The University of Utah; Salt Lake City, UT 84112; Tel: 801-581-6942; E-mail lazzi@utah.edu
  • Mahta Moghaddam; Department of Electrical Engineering -- Electrophysics; University of Southern California; Los Angeles, CA 90089-0271; Tel: 312-740-4712; E-mail: mahta@usc.edu
URSI Honorary Members (Indefinite)
Chalmers Butler, Past URSI Vice President; Milton W. Holcombe Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering; Clemson University; 336 Fluor Daniel Engineering Innovation Building; Clemson, SC 29634-0915; Tel: 864-656-5922; FAX: 864-656-7220; E-mail: chalmers.butler@ ces.clemson.edu
Thomas B. Senior, Past URSI President; University of Michigan; Electrical Engineering & Computer Sciences Department; Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2122; Tel: (734) 764-0500, FAX (734) 747-2106; E-mail: senior@eecs.umich.edu

FOREIGN SECRETARY OF THE NATIONAL ACADEMY OF SCIENCES
  • John G. Hildrebrand (NAS); Department of Neuroscience; University of Arizona; Tucson, AZ 85721-0077; Tel: 520-621-6626; E-mail: jhildebr@email.arizona.edu 
NRSM CONFERENCE COORDINATOR
  • Christina Patarino; CU Conference Services; University of Colorado at Boulder; Tel: 303-492-5153; Fax: 303-492-5959; E-mail: christina.patarino@colorado.edu
NATIONAL ACADEMIES STAFF  
  • Ana Ferreras, Senior Program Officer, Board on International Scientific Organizations; The National Academies; 500 Fifth Street, N.W.; Washington, DC 20001; Phone: 202-334-1697; Fax: 202-334-2231; E-mail: aferreras@nas.edu 
  • Pam Gamble, Administrative Associate, Board on International Scientific Organizations; The National Academies; 500 Fifth Street, N.W.; Washington, DC 20001; Phone: 202-334-2688; Fax: 202-334-2231; E-mail: pgamble@nas.edu


IMPORTANT WEB ADDRESSES 

 
USNC-URSI Home Page: http://www.usnc-ursi.org
USNC-URSI January Meeting: http://www.nrsmboulder.org

USNC-URSI










 

 

This material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant Number AST-1265767. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.

To comment on this webpage or report an error, please send feedback to the BISO Site Manager.